Advertise with us

Academy Through to MacRory Final

Friday 25.02.2011
Team Talk Mag

St.Patrick’s Academy Dungannon are through to their third MacRory Cup final in four years when they defeated St.Michael’s Enniskillen under lights at Healy Park last night.

St.Patricks Academy Dungannon 2-9 St.Michaels Enniskillen 0-13

On a night when scores proved difficult to come by Dungannon can thank goalkeeper McReynolds for a crucial save shortly before they slotted home their second goal of the night. It was nip and tuck in the first half with Dungannon shading matters 0-5 to 0-4 on the scoreboard although they could have had two goals. Flowing moves twice put Stefan Lavery through inside a three minute spell but on both occasions Enniskillen keeper Brian McAleer saved well.

Liam Gervin converted three frees for Dungannon but Mark Blake, Eddie Courtney and Sean Quigley responded for St.Michaels as they edged in front. Just before those two goals chances Eunan Deeney joined the attack to hoist over the equaliser before Dungannon captain Colm McFall pointed with the last kick of the half.

Gervin and Dwayne Quinn increased Dungannon’s lead on the restart but by the fifth minute it was honours even after Quigley, Rory Brennan and John Joe Strain had all scored.

Shea McGarrity put Dungannon back in front before Harry Og Conlon struck for a brilliant 8th minute goal. Again though Enniskillen fought back to draw with Brennan and Donnelly getting points.

With two minutes to go a brilliant pass from Jason Carberry picked out fellow substitute Aidan McGarrity who finished to the net in style and despite a Donnelly brace for Enniskillen Dungannon held on.

St.Patricks Dungannon – M McReynolds, R Jones, S Molloy, M McAleer, E Deeney [0-1], S McGarrity [0-1], S Quinn, C McFall [0-1], P Barker, D Quinn [0-1], K Morgan, H Og Conlon [1-0], S Lavery, R Devlin, L Gervin [0-5]. Subs – A McGarrity [1-0] for D Quinn, J Carberry for Barker, M Campbell for Deeney

St.Michaels Enniskillen – B McAleer, N Shannon, R Brennan [0-2], K Connor, T Daly, L Leonard, R Porteous, A Breen [0-1], R Hyde, E Courtney, R Corrigan, R Donnelly [0-3],  J J Strain [0-1], S Quigley [0-3], B Owens. Subs – M Blake for Owens, J Stewart for Hyde, S Lynch for Porteous, L Martin for Blake

Referee – M McErlaine, Derry


Advertise with us