Advertise with us

Aghaloo Into Junior Decider

Sunday 09.10.2022
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

Aghaloo 2-13 Derrytresk 1-3

Aghaloo eased into the LCC Junior championship final when they proved too strong for a gallant Derrytresk side at Stewartstown on Saturday evening.


It was a game that the winners were always in control of with attacking duo Niall McElroy and Tiarnan Donnelly weighing in with an impressive 2-10 between them. It was a good all round team display from the winners with their defence particularly impressive as they give the Derrytresk attack no room or space throughout. Donnelly had the ball inside the Derrytresk net as early as the 5th minute and that set the tone. McElroy also fired in a goal as Aghaloo established a commanding 2-6 to 0-1 interval advantage, Cathal O’Neill the sole Derrytresk marksman with a quality point at the end of the opening quarter.


Donnelly and McElroy continued to be unerring from frees on the restart and while Niall Gavin got a Derrytresk goal in the 47th minute it was only a consolation score for them. McElroy and substitute Gary O’Gorman tagged on points for the winners and while Derrytresk had the final say from Gavin and O’Neill it only served to put a slightly better look on the final scoreline.


Aghaloo: Neil McKenna, Darragh Muldoon, Caolan Boyle, Gerard Daly, Padraig McGeary, Ruairi McGlone, Eoin Ward, Jody McGlone, Stewart Douglas, James O’Hara (0-1), Enda McGarrity, Conor Mullen (0-1), Niall McElroy (1-7, 5F), Niall Henderson, Tiarnan Donnelly (1-3, 3F). Subs: Gary O’Gorman (0-1) for McGarrity, Mark McCormack for McGeary, Oliver Sherry for Henderson, Patryk Kinder for Donnelly


Derrytresk: Dermot Mulholland, Paul McCabe, Liam Slater, Pat Campbell, Paul Greville, Caolan Corr, Johnny Campbell, Aidan Gavin, Ronie O’Neill, Caolan O’Donnell, Cathal O’Neill (0-2), James Canavan, Eoin McNally, Niall Gavin (1-1,1F), Odhran Hughes. Subs: Conal Hagan for Pat Campbell, Aidan McCaffrey for Canavan, Jack McAnulty for Johnny Campbell, Conor Fitzgerald for Greville


Referee: Gary Gormley, Drumquin



Advertise with us