Advertise with us

Aghaloo Into Last Four

Sunday 02.10.2022
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

Aghaloo 1-16 Fintona 0-11

A commanding first half performance laid the foundation for a comfortable win for Aghaloo over Fintona at Clogher on Sunday afternoon as they qualified for a semi final meeting with Derrytresk in the LCC Junior championship.


With the wind at their backs early scores from Jody McGlone, Niall McElroy and Niall Henderson gave Aghaloo a 4-1 lead after 10 minutes, Peter McGlinn with the Fintona opener. McGlinn nearly levelled the game, his free kick nearly deceived keeper Jason Mulgrew, but his effort was scrambled clear. Fintona’s centre back Conal Rice drove through the centre to register a fine score, and by the midpoint two points separated the sides. Jody McGlone converted a long range free before Cormac Watson got Fintona’s final score of the half.


Aghaloo’s movement up front was causing plenty of problems and they were rewarded with scores from McElroy and Henderson. A brace of frees from McElroy extended the advantage before Jody McGlone kicked his third of the half and the lead was seven. In the 30th minute James O’Hara looked like he had ended the game as a contest, calmly slotting past Cathal Gillespie following a Henderson pass.


To their credit Fintona started the second half with purpose Substitute Tommy McGrath scoring with his first touch. Further scores followed from McGoldrick, McGillion and a McGrath free. As the game entered its final quarter Fintona trailed by six and nearly got the goal their comeback required however a fine reaction save by the Aghaloo keeper meant they had to settle for a Aidan Donnelly point. A feature of the second was a series of wonderful catches in the middle of field by Peter McGlinn.


Tiarnan Donnelly with Aghaloo’s first score of the half in the 47th minute brought much need respite. Conor McGillion responded. Aghaloo regained their composure and managed to control the final ten minutes with Stewart Douglas gaining a foot hold in midfield. A fisted point by Enda McGarrity was followed by a series of frees from McElroy and Tiarnan Donnelly. Fintona’s attempts to engineer goal chances were controlled by the Aghaloo defence. Late frees from McGlinn and Donnelly mere consolation. Jody McGlone had the final say as he bookended the scoring with the last point.


Aghaloo – Jason Mulgrew, Darragh Muldoon, Caolan Boyle, Gerard Daly, Padraig McGeary, Ruairi McGlone, Eoin Ward, Jody McGlone (0-4,2F), Stewart Douglas. James O’Hara (1-0), Enda McGarrity (0-1), Conor Mullen, Niall McElroy (0-6, 4F, 1M), Niall Henderson (0-2), Tiarnan Donnelly (0-3, 2F). Subs: Gary O’Gorman for Henderson, Neil McKenna for Mulgrew, Mark McCormack for Muldoon, Daniel McCrudden for O’Hara


Fintona – Cathal Gillespie, Marius Monaghan, Mark McGlinn, Eoghan Garrity, Matty Armstrong, Conal Rice (0-1), Niall Murray, Eugene Liam McCarroll, Cathal Starrs, Conor McGoldrick (0-1), Conor McGillion (0-2), Cormac Watson (0-1), Peter McGlinn (0-2, 1F), Oran Hughes, Aiden Donnelly (0-2, 1F). Subs: Pauric Kelly for Garrity, Tommy McGrath (0-2, 1F) for McCarroll, Niall Mellon for Hughes


Referee – Cathal McCrory, Greencastle



Advertise with us