Advertise with us

Aghyaran Ladies Secure Championship and League Double.

Tuesday 05.11.2013
Team Talk Mag

Aghyaran 2-12, Kildress 1-14

On Sunday morning at Dungannon the Aghyaran ladies made club history when they won the Tyrone junior league title against a very hardworking and talented Kildress team.

The St Davogs girls made the perfect start when centre half back Kellie Meehan found space in front of goals to hammer the ball past the helpless Charleen Quinn after just five minutes of play. Maeve Conway responded for Kildress with two well converted frees before points from Lucy Mc Menamin and Sasha Byrne restored the three point gap.

Kildress were beginning to get on top around the middle of the field and their dominance was rewarded when midfielder Stacy Rafferty sent to the net. That goal was followed shortly after with two well taken frees from the boot of Maeve Conway.

Aghyaran regained the initiative and excellent scores from Lucy Mc Menamin (2) and Nichola Mc Menamin put them two in front. However Kildress refused to buckle and with half time approaching Maeve Conway converted two further frees to send the sides in tied at the break on 1-6 apiece.
Aghyaran came out after the break in determined mood and with Kellie Meehan Phenah O Neill and Carol Ann Byrne in fine form the St Davogs produced some super football. Points from Lucy Mc Menamin and Nichola Mc Menamin after good work from Stacy Dolan and Aimee Coyle were followed by a Shanon Skelton goal.

Once again however Kildress displayed character and heart as Alice Mc Nally initiated a Kildress scoring spree with a point from out wide on the sideline. This was followed by some magnificent scores from Maeve Conway, Sorcha Mc Namee and Caoimhe Mc Gurk to bring the sides level again with only seven minutes left in the game.

Another brace of pointed frees from Maeve Conway put Kildress in front but the lead didn’t last for long as two Lucy Mc Menamin frees once again put the St Davogs in front by a point.

With time running out Kildress pushed forward and were awarded a penalty right at the death. Stacy Rafferty opted to go for the goal but sent her low ground shot just wide of the post. The full time whistle sounded and the Aghyaran players and management were declared double champions as they celebrated the winning of the 2013 league title.
Aghyaran team and scorers:

Cathy Gallen, Ciara Logue, Phenah O Neill, Carol Ann Byrne, Sasha Byrne (0-1) Kellie Meehan (1-0) Bronagh Mc Hugh, Lucy Mc Menamin (0-7), Nichola Mc Menamin (capt) (0-2), Annette Collins, Shannon Skelton (1-1), Niamh Gormley, Aimee Coyle (0-1) Roisin Temple, Stacey Dolan. Natasha Penrose, Fionnuala Mc Hugh, Erin Collins, Emma Lynch, Roisin Moss.

Kildress scorers were Maeve Conway (0-8) Stacy Rafferty (1-1), Caiomhe Mc Gurk (0-3), Sorcha Mc Namee & Alice Mc Nally (0-1) each.



Advertise with us