Advertise with us

All Ireland Glory For Masters

Monday 08.11.2021
Team Talk Mag
Latest News

Tyrone 2-9 Dublin 1-8

Tyrone won the All Ireland Masters title at Drumlish on Saturday afternoon when they emerged deserving four point winners over a fancied Dublin side. 

The Red Hands led 1-4 to 0-5 at the break with Michael Anderson getting the goal just before half time after good approach play from Stephen O’Neill. Anderson also converted two first half frees while Damian Patton got Tyrone’s opening two points of the contest. Donal Ryan, Warren Finnegan and Kevin Golden were among the points for Dublin. 

Scores continued to prove difficult to come by in the third quarter with Dublin closing the gap thanks to efforts from Warren Finnegan and Golden, John McMullan with a Tyrone score sandwiched in between. Just after the water break Dublin got their goal through Ryan after he was first to react to a shot from Finnegan coming back off the post. Tyrone though regrouped with Barry Collins scrambling the ball home from close range before they seized the initiative.

It was still anybody’s game but that’s when Stephen O’Neill came to the fore with an outstanding point with the outside of his boot from out on the left wing and he followed that up with another brace. Golden then sent a rocket off the bar before Tyrone sealed victory with a brilliant Damian Kelly point. 

Tyrone : S Colton, C Gourley, E Gormley, R McMenamin, P Clarke, L Patterson, M Connolly, B Collins (1-0), D McAnallen, C Quinn, M Anderson (1-2, 2F), E Bradley, B Mullan, S O’Neill (0-3, 1F), D Patton (0-2). Subs: C Gormley, J McMullan (0-1), E McElroy, D Kelly (0-1), R McCallion, A Brady 

Dublin:  C Murray, M Coyne, S O’Sullivan (0-1), F Condron, B Birby, B McGrath, G O’Connell, F Purcell, I Clarke, K Golden (0-2), T Brennan, C Smyth, W Finnegan (0-2, 2F), D Ryan (1-2), N Crossan. Subs: B McCullagh, P Murtagh, R Herrity, C McGuinness (0-1)

Referee: P Neilan, Roscommon



Advertise with us