Advertise with us


Wednesday 04.02.2015
Team Talk Mag


Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain held the third heat of the annual 5-a-side Boys’ Indoor Gaelic Football for primary schools in Omagh’s Station Centre. Nine local schools entered teams for this final qualifying heat in the series of Omagh district fixtures, bringing the overall total of participants to 23 over the 3 days. Just when we thought we had seen it all in terms of talent and skill, this third heat reached new peaks. The school teams produced a remarkably high level of ability and sportsmanship.

The format of the games was based on two sections of 5 and 4, respectively.

Section ‘A’ witnessed gallant performances from Gortnagarn PS; St. Teresa’s PS, Loughmacrory – only missing out on the finals by one point, and our 2014 defending Champions: St. Patrick’s PS, Newtownstewart. Master McGlone’s NTS lads certainly defended their crown with pride. However, two schools required a play-off to determine the Section winners, having drawn (1:1) in their first encounter. St. Laurence’s PS, Fintona, and St. Columbkille’s PS, Carrickmore produced a game of real intensity and no little skill. An absorbing tussle saw Master McMullan’s talented team fall by the narrowest of margins to the boys from Carmen – in a match that will live long in the memory. Thus, an equally talented Carrickmore side made the final.FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender (2)

Section ‘B’ featured 4 teams. Superb displays from St. Eugene’s PS, Victoria Bridge; All Saints PS, Tattysallagh, and Our Lady of Lourdes PS, Greencastle – just missing out on the final despite two wins from three – were, ultimately, all in vain. St. Conor’s PS, Omagh, powered their way into the final with an impressive 100% win record of three wins out of three. As a result, Masters Liam Grugan and Paul Logue had guided their charges to a winner-takes-all decider with Carrickmore.

FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (6)FullSizeRender (7)FullSizeRender (8)FullSizeRender (9)FullSizeRender (10)

Who would prevail?

As expected, the final was an epic contest between the two remaining unbeaten teams. The game was a tactically tight affair, with defences very solid. However, both schools were dangerous on the counter-attack and goals followed.

It was to prove the classic case of the odd goal in three. Decisively, it was the Carmen boys who took the honours with their two goals. St. Conor’s battled heroically until the final whistle but, despite their best efforts, they went down by a goal. They can hold their heads up with pride. Thus, Master Mark Donnelly has managed his Carrickmore lads to the County Final on 3 March at the same venue. Here, they will be joined by Holy Family PS; St. Mary’s PS, Killyclogher, and the winners from the three remaining heats in Cookstown, Dungannon and Clonoe.

Things are bubbling-up nicely in our quest to crown the 2015 Champions…

Our thanks to referee, Stevie McNamee, for his expert officiating, and to Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Tyrone PRO, Eddie Doris, for co-ordinating the day’s matches. Director of Games, Niall McQuaid, is also acknowledged for arranging all of these competitions. Omagh’s Station Centre staff, Jerome and Ett, are also thanked.

Three superb days of football now complete – what will Heats 4, 5 & 6 bring?


Advertise with us