Advertise with us


Thursday 04.02.2016
Team Talk Mag



Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain held the third Heat of its annual Boys’ Indoor Football competition in Omagh’s Station Centre on Wednesday 3 February. Six schools competed in another action-packed day of tremendous football, providing thrills and spills aplenty.

Omagh Integrated P.S.St. Patrick's P.S. Castlederg

Teams were drawn into two groups of three. Section ‘A’ featured St. Dympna’s P.S. Dromore; Holy Family P.S. Omagh and St. Lawrence’s P.S. Fintona. The Fintona lads seemed to be jinxed when shooting because, try as they may, the opposition goalkeeper was in inspired form to thwart them. Consequently, they missed out on progression despite their worthy efforts. Instead, Dromore topped the section with an unbeaten record. They were joined in the semi-finals by Holy Family – defeating them 3-0 in the group stages. These schools would meet again later in the day…

St. Mary's P.S. StrabaneSt. Lawrence's P.S. Fintona

Section ‘B’ comprised Omagh Integrated P.S; St. Patrick’s P.S. Castlederg and St. Mary’s P.S. Strabane. An honourable mention must be made of the goalkeeper from Omagh Integrated P.S. He was in simply sensational form, saving shot after shot with aplomb. He was, without question, the player of the tournament! However, despite the keeper’s heroics, his team narrowly missed out on progressing further on the day. St. Mary’s P.S. Strabane topped the section, unbeaten, and they were joined in the semi-finals by group runners-up: St. Patrick’s P.S. Castlederg.

Heat Runners-Up St. Dympna's P.S. Dromore


The fifth-placed play-off between St. Lawrence’s P.S. and Omagh Integrated P.S ended in 1-1 draw. Both teams did really well on the day, and a draw was a fair result.

The first semi-final saw a well organised, talented St. Dympna’s P.S. Dromore, cruise to a comfortable 4-0 win against a hardworking St. Patrick’s P.S. Castlederg. The ‘derg lads just ran out of steam, but still had a great tournament.

The second semi provided a shock of sorts, as section ‘B’ winners St. Mary’s P.S. Strabane found themselves on the wrong end of another 4-0 scoreline at the hands of an impressive Omagh outfit. That said, the Strabane lads – led by Jonny Lafferty – had a brilliant tournament. Therefore, Holy Family P.S. came through, convincingly, to take their rightful place in the final.

The final, itself, saw a repeat of the earlier group stage clash between St. Dympna’s P.S. and Holy Family P.S. It looked ominous for Holy Family when Dromore took a 1-0 lead. However, despite several near-misses, Dromore could not add to their tally. The Omagh school took full advantage and a two-goal salvo saw them emerge victorious on a 2-1 scoreline. It was heartache for the hitherto unbeaten Dromore lads and their mentor, Sean O’ Neill, but jubilation for Holy Family and Paul Groogan. They now advance to the Tyrone Finals in March, to be held in Cookstown’s M.U.S.A. We wish them well.

Finally, thanks to Stephen McNamee for his expert officiating as referee, and to Eddie Doris (Rúnaí: Allianz Cumann na mBunscol, Thír Eoghain) for co-ordinating this great event. Our thanks, also, to the staff from the Station Centre for their hospitality over the past few days. Go raibh maith agaibh!




Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain held the fourth Heat of its annual Boys’ Indoor Football competition in Cookstown Leisure Centre on Thursday 4 February. Eleven schools competed in another action-packed day of tremendous football, providing thrills and spills aplenty. What a busy day it was…


Teams were drawn into two groups of 5 and 6 respectively. Section ‘A’ featured St. Mary’s P.S. Pomeroy; St. Joseph’s P.S. Killeenan; St. Peter’s P.S. Moortown and our 2015 defending Co. Champions: Holy Trinity P.S. Cookstown. These four school teams gave their all in a bid to qualify for the heat final but, alas for them, didn’t quite make it on this occasion. Two schools were to battle it out for the coveted final berth – St. Patrick’s P.S. Mullinahoe, Ardboe and St. Joseph’s P.S. Galbally. Both teams were unbeaten as they met in a winner-takes-all clash. It was always going to prove difficult to call and, as things transpired, it was a case of hard luck for Master Lavery and his brave Ardboe team as they fell to a strong Galbally side, managed by Master Joey Kelly. Thus, St. Joseph’s P.S. Galbally had maintained their 100% win-record (5 wins from 5) and had booked their place in the Heat 4 final.

Heat Finalists - St. Joseph's P.S. GalballyHoly Trinity P.S. Cookstown Co. Champions 2015

Section ‘B’ comprised Sacred Heart P.S. Rock; Laghey P.S; St. Mary’s P.S. Stewartstown and St. Mary’s P.S. Dunamore. Again, these teams displayed plenty of zest as they endeavoured to join Galbally in the final. Honourable mentions to Stewartstown and Dunamore – both recording a couple of wins – but, the team from St. Patrick’s P.S. Donaghmore eased through the group with a perfect 100% win-record of their own (4 wins from 4) and, impressively, were yet to concede a goal on their march to the final.

Laghey P.S.Sacred Heart P.S. Rock

The scene was now set for what promised to be a titanic battle between the near-neighbours and parish rivals from Donaghmore and Galbally. It had all the ingredients of a cracking tie – and so it proved. St. Patrick’s hit the opening score only to be pegged back by St. Joseph’s. At 1-1, the match was very much in the melting pot. The next goal would prove crucial, and that’s how it panned out. Crucially, Donaghmore – managed by Master Peter Harte – hit a brace of quick-fire goals to seal a 3-1 triumph. It was heartache for Galbally but they did themselves and their school proud on the day – well done, lads! Donaghmore, on the other hand, book themselves a place in the Tyrone Indoor Co. Final to be held in MUSA on Thursday 3 March. We wish them well. Ádh mór oraibh!

St. Joseph's P.S. KilleenanSt. Mary's P.S. Dunamore St. Mary's P.S. Pomeroy St. Mary's P.S. Stewartstown

A huge word of thanks goes to our referee Marty Devlin, Stewartstown, Ronan Devlin (Games Promotion Officer: Mid-Ulster Council) and Eddie Doris (Rúnaí Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain) for their valued input in helping ensure the success of this heat. Go raibh maith agaibh!

St. Patrick's P.S. Mullinahoe, Ardboe St. Peter's P.S. Moortown

4 of our 6 finalists are now known: Carrickmore; Loughmacrory; Holy Family, Omagh and Donaghmore. Exciting times lie ahead for these schools…



Advertise with us