Advertise with us

CBS Beaten In MacRory Cup

Wednesday 19.02.2020
Team Talk Mag


St Pats Armagh 1-3 Omagh CBS 0-5

Last season’s beaten finalists Omagh CBS crashed out of this year’s Danske Bank MacRory Cup when they lost a low scoring affair to St.Pats Armagh in dreadful weather conditions at Fintona on Wednesday afternoon.

After impressively retaining the McCormack Cup the Brothers were hoping to go one step further this year but on the day they came up short with two fellow Tyrone players doing the damage for the winners namely Eglish duo Michael McGleenan and Ryan Bradley.

Conditions were far from ideal for football but despite not scoring in the first half Omagh CBS would have been happy to be only 0-2 to 0-0 behind at the short whistle. Both Armagh points came from the boot of McGleenan, two monster efforts from play from 55 and 50 metres respectively.

Halftime substitute Mark Hayes eventually got Omagh up and running with a point within a minute of the restart but sixty seconds later Armagh struck for the only goal of the game when a shot from Bradley squirmed past keeper Oran Grimes and into the net. McGleenan then landed a brilliant long range free into the wind to make it 1-3 to 0-1.

There was still twenty three minutes of normal time left to play and while that was Armagh’s last score it turned out that they had did enough. Ciaran Daly pointed from a free and from play while Hayes almost got a goal in the 49th minute when his flicked effort struck the bar on its way over.

Omagh CBS had the wind at their backs and they had ample opportunities to win the game but poor marksmanship and decision making allied to a dogged Armagh side proved to be their undoing. The Brothers hit fifteen wides on the day and while Daniel Fullerton closed the gap to the minimum from an injury time free it wasn’t enough.

St.Pats Armagh: C McKee, O Guy, L Camarra, A Harney, S Quigley, C Toner, L McKenna, S Donaghy, K McCann, O Conatty, R Bradley (1-0), J Walsh, M McKeever, M McGleenan (0-3, 1F ), J Hughes. Subs: M Lennon for Walsh, K Robinson for McKeever, J Walsh for Hughes, M McKeever for Guy

Omagh CBS: O Grimes, R Burns, E Curry, M Devlin, F Taggart, R Donnelly, E McShane, B Conway, E Montgomery, C McGillion, C Daly (0-2, 1F), S O Donnell, R Maguire, P McGlinn, D Fullerton (0-1, F). Sub: M Hayes (0-2) for Maguire

Referee: M McNally, Monaghan



Advertise with us