Advertise with us

Connacht Stun Ulster to Claim Railway Cup

Sunday 23.02.2014
Team Talk Mag

Connacht 2-19 Ulster 1-7

Connacht are the 2014 Railway Cup champions following an emphatic fifteen point win over Ulster at Tuam this afternoon.  It’s only the tenth time that the men from the west have won the title, the last coming some forty-five years ago in 1969.  Just over 600 people gathered to watch the game.  The writing was on the wall for Ulster following a low scoring first half which saw them play with a very strong wind.  They were just 1-5 to 0-6 ahead at the short whistle.

Tyrone man Colm Cavanagh fired home the only goal of the game just two minute before the break finishing to the net after Rob Hennelly had denied Michael Murphy.  Niall Morgan was also on the scoreboard for Ulster with an excellent long range point after the break.  Connacht however gained control of the game through  a goal from Michael Conroy.  Ulster only kicked two points in the second-half  while scores from Cathal Cregg, Kevin McLoughlin, Keith Higgins and Seán Armstrong exposed the Ulster defence and opened up a ten point lead.  The icing was added to cake when David Kelly sent the ball to the Ulster net six minutes from time.

Scorers for Connacht: M Conroy and D Kelly 1-1 each; R Hennelly 0-3 (2f, 1 ’45), C Cregg and S Armstrong 0-3 each; K McLoughlin 0-2 (1f), K Higgins 0-2; N Daly, A O’Shea, E Mulligan and P Conroy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ulster: C Cavanagh 1-0; C McManus 0-3 (3f); N Morgan, S Cavanagh and M Murphy 0-1 (1f) each, M Poland 0-1.

Connacht: R Hennelly (Mayo); S McDermott (Roscommon), J Moore (Galway), K Higgins (Mayo); G Bradshaw (Galway), N Daly (Roscommon), K McLoughlin (Mayo); A O’Shea (Mayo), J Gibbons (Mayo); S Armstrong (Galway), E Mulligan (Leitrim), C Cregg (Roscommon); M Conroy (Mayo), P Conroy (Galway), D Kelly (Sligo). Subs: T Flynn (Galway) for O’Shea (8), O’Shea for Flynn (11); D Cummins (Galway) for Kelly (47), Kelly for Cummins (55); M Brehony (Sligo) for Kelly (65); E Concannon (Galway) for M Conroy (65); G Reynolds (Leitrim) for Bradshaw (65); N Ewing (Sligo) for McDermott (67)

Ulster: N Morgan (Tyrone); E McGee (Donegal), N McGee (Donegal), C Clarke (Tyrone); S L McGoldrick (Derry), R McCluskey (Fermanagh), P Harte (Tyrone); S Cavanagh (Tyrone), E Donnelly (Fermanagh); C Mackey (Cavan), M Poland (Down), C Cavanagh (Tyrone); E Keating (Cavan), M Murphy (Donegal), C McManus (Monaghan). Subs: K Hughes (Monaghan) for Keating (12); M McHugh (Donegal) for MacKey (30); C McKaigue (Derry) for McCluskey (Black) (44); D Givney (Cavan) for Donnelly (46); K McKernan (Down) for Cavanagh (52).

Referee: D O’Mahoney (Tipperary)



Advertise with us