Advertise with us

Cookstown Book Place in Last Eight

Saturday 12.09.2020
Team Talk Mag

Cookstown 1-10 Glenelly 0-9

Not a game that will live too long in the memory of great games in this years Tyrone club championships but that won’t particularly concern Cookstown manager Brian Mulligan this evening as he watched his team progress to the quarter final of the 2020 LCC Group Junior Football Championship.  Cookstown finished the game with 14 players following the 9th minute departure of veteran wing half back Martin Murray with a straight red card.

Cookstown opened the scoring through James McGahon in the 2nd minute with a point from play and he would double the advantage 60 seconds later with a similar effort.  Glenelly replied with a brace of Ronan O’Kane frees to live the game shortly before the Murray dismissal.  A Nathan Connolly point eased Cookstown into a lead in the 10th minute.  Cookstown capitalised on that lead with a goal on the quarter hour mark.  Dean Teague pumped the ball into the box and it rebounded into the hands of Oisin McNia and he crashed the ball to the Glenelly net.

Eamon McConnell steadied Glenelly nerves in the 20th minute and two frees from the boot of Ronan O’Kane got the St Joeseph’s men back to within a point.  O’Kane would find himself in the bin in the 27th minute but amazingly he would return to the action ahead of the half time whistle.  Cookstown completed the scoring in the opening half with a free from Danny McElhatton to leave the half time score Cookstown 1-4 Glenelly 0-5.

Both sides would begin the second half with 14 men following the late black card for Kevin McConnell and this played init Cookstown hands.  Owen Mulligan showed a bit of class to open the scoring in the second half but that point was cancelled out by two O’Kane frees from the edge of the D.  With the lead down to one point Cookstown look vulnerable but two Jame McGahon points either side of another Ronan O’Kane free kept Cookstown two ahead.

Two more McGahon points this time from frees set Cookstown for home and with Glenelly only registering one more more from O’Kane in the final quarter it was left to substitute John Gilmore to land the last score of the game from a 30 metre free.  Final Score : Cookstown 1-10 Glenelly 0-9.

Cookstown Scorers – James McGahon 0-6, Oisin MacNia 1-0, Owen Mulligan 0-1, Danny McElhatton 0-1, Nathan Connolly 0-1, John Gilmore 0-1

Glenelly Scorers – Ronan O’Kane 0-6, Eamon McConnell 0-2, Aodhan McConnell 0-1

Referee – Martin McErlain (Clonoe)



Advertise with us