Advertise with us

Division 3 Wrap Up In Association With Mc Girr Bros Quarries

Friday 21.07.2023
Team Talk Mag
All County League

Saturday saw Errigal Thirds take on Brocagh and Fintona Pearses entertain Donaghmore Thirds. In their game Errigal reached the break leading by two 0-6 to 0-4 and continued to dominate as they claimed the points on a final score of 0-12 to 0-7. Brocagh’s scores came from Justin Campbell (2), Brandon Mc Kiver (3) and Mickey Hughes (2). Errigal will be delighted with another win with their scores coming from Darren Canavan (1), Ruairi O’Sullivan (1), Daniel Blake (3), Aodhan Mc Cullagh (1), Mick Quinn (1), Ciaran Mc Ginley (2), Ronan Mc Rory (2) and Eunan Loughran (1). Meanwhile Fintona Pearses unsurprisingly had a comfortable win over Donaghmore Thirds. Attacking corner back Marius Monaghan got the Pearses’ goal after ten minutes by which stage they led by three points. Fintona continued to dominate a low key encounter with Conor Mc Gillion (9), Odhran Hughes (2), Peter Mc Glinn (1), Cormac Watson (2) and Tommy Mc Grath (1) all on target. The Pearses remain unbeaten in the league and joint top but know that some stiffer challenges lie ahead.

Urney enjoyed a fairly facile victory over Killyman on Friday evening. Ryan Henry bagged 2-2 for the winners while the return to form of Johnny Lafferty continues apace. The former county man hit eight points while Keith Nelis and James Kelly added a point apiece. The border men eased to a 2-12 to 0-7 win after leading at the break 2-6 to 0-4. Killyman scorers on the night were Enda Mc Gahan (3), Ronan Mc Veigh (2), Cathal Mc Gahan and Michael Donnelly 0-1 apiece.

The returning Matthew Carberry (0-6) and Michael Mc Elhatton (1-3) were the key men in Cookstown’s narrow win over CNG. Conor O’Hare, Callan Kelly and Ruairi Mullan accounted for the other three points as Fr Rocks remained top of the table following their 1-12 to 1-10 win. Joe Ball hit the net for CNG while Shea Browne (4), Gareth Mc Dermott (3), Danny Ball, David Conway and Damian Ball completed the scoring for the north Tyrone lads.

Playing at home Drumquin came from being 2-5 to 1-6 behind at the break to snatch a one point win against a determined Augher side with two late goals for the Tones proving vital. The Macartans will be disappointed they did not get something from the game having led for so long and looking comfortable with five minutes to go. Oisin Gormley clipped over 0-7 while Division Three top scorer Sean Mc Donagh bagged 2-1 as the Wolfe Tones won it 3-11 to 3-10. Frankie Mc Alynn (1-2) and Niall Mc Glynn completed the scoring for the winners. Darragh Kavanagh was back among the scores for Augher with 2-3 while Aidan Mc Elroy, Eoghan Keenan, Raymond Mc Elroy, Finbarr Mc Elroy, Pascal Gormley and Ronan Mc Elroy were also on target for their side.

Castlederg claimed their first point of the season with a 3-4 to 0-13 draw at home to Derrytresk. They were indebted to Cain Harper who scored all three of his team’s goals with his third and final one coming right on the stroke of full time. Pat Campbell hit 0-3 for the Hill Men while Niall Gavin (0-7), Johnny Campbell (1), Caolan O’Donnell (0-1) and Caolan Corr (0-1) completed the Derrytresk scoring.

Eskra travelled to Glenelly and in spite of a determined hour’s football left with nothing as the north Tyrone men claimed the win on a scoreline of 4-6 to 1-13. Garrett O’Neill hit 3-1 for the winners while Ronan O’Kane (1-1) and Conor Mc Aneney (3) were also among the scores. Eskra led 1-7 to 2-2 at the break with Micky Woods getting the goal and points from Joe Mc Carroll, Aaron Kelly and Cathal Meegan. However Glenelly’s ability to plunder goals proved decisive especially O’Neill’s third which came deep in injury time.

Drumragh lost at home for the first time this season against Aghaloo but it was a performance and result that could prove costly later on in the season. Aghaloo led at the break 1-7 to 1-6 and after a battling second half took the points on a 1-13 to 1-12 win. Niall Mc Elroy (1-2) got the all important first half goal while others on target for the O’Neills were Ruairi Mc Glone (0-4), Gary O’Gorman (0-2), Patryk Kinder (0-2) and a point apiece from Stewart Douglas, Conor Mullin and Ollie Sherry. A special mention to Aghaloo goalkeeper Neil Mc Kenna who was simply outstanding for his team and his saves helped ensure the points went home with Aghaloo,



Advertise with us