Advertise with us

Errigal Ciaran Are County Champions

Sunday 30.10.2022
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

LCC Tyrone Senior Football Championship Final
Errigal Ciaran 2-11 Carrickmore 1-12

Errigal Ciaran are the new Tyrone Senior Champions following an enthralling LCC Group sponsored final with Carrickmore more than playing their part in a fascinating encounter at Healy Park.

A dominant first half display from Errigal set them on their way to winning the O’Neill Cup for the first time in 10 years. The game was played at a frantic pace throughout and credit to referee Stephen Campbell who allowed the game to flow. It was Danny Fullerton who opened the scoring when he kicked a quality score from an acute angle, in the 6th minute. Ruairi Canavan opened the Errigal account in the 8th minute quickly followed by a Peter Harte point.  Fullerton responded with his first free of the game tied the game before Lorcan McBride nudged Carrickmore back in front.

The game was end to end at this stage but Errigal were starting to gain the ascendancy in the midfield sector and using wind advantage established a game winning lead. Ruairi Canavan kicked a wonder score from near the sideline, Tommy Canavan converted a 50m free kick before Ben McDonnell charged through the middle to make it 5-3. Jack McCallan was called upon to catch a Canavan free above the crossbar. Carrickmore were defending well in numbers but Errigal’s patience was rewarded when Mark Kavanagh launched a point from beyond the 45.

Ciaran Quinn was having an outstanding half in defence for the winners repelling several Carrickmore attacks in succession. As the half was drawing to a close Errigal continued to press forward with the Canavan brothers combined for Darragh to score. A Danny Fullerton free, a first  score in 17 minutes left the score 7-4. Deep in injury time Joe Oguz kicked a fine score. However as Carrickmore pressed forward Errigal rear guard turned the ball over before releasing Peter Harte, showing all his experience he fed Padraig McGirr who finished to the net to leave it 1-8 to 0-4 at the break.

The majority of the large crowd in attendance felt that Errigal lead was insurmountable. However they hadn’t factored in the tradition and spirit of Carrickmore. Ruairi Loughran and Brian Conway were introduced at half time and their introduction reaped immediate dividend. Lorcan McGarrity did extremely well to force a turn over and he fed Martin Penrose who fired pass Darragh McAnenly in goals. Mark Kavanagh fisted a point at the other end before Carrickmore took control, points from Penrose, McGarrity from a mark and Ruairi Slane reduced the deficit to two.

Errigal needed a score and a it arrived with 15 minutes remaining a moment of brilliance from Darragh Canavan saw him secure possession from Peter Og McCartan before releasing an onrushing Joe Oguz, who confidently finished to the net. Carrickmore continued to fight with the recently introduced Mark Donnelly scoring before two Danny Fullerton frees left 2 between them with 5 to go. Carrickmore will regret to two rushed efforts that went wide. In the final minute Darragh Canavan scored a crucial point before minutes later he made an important block at the other end. Despite late frees from McGarrity and Fullerton it was to be Errigal Ciaran’s day.

Errigal Ciaran: D McAnenly, C Quinn, M Kavanagh (0-2), D Morrow, C Quinn, N Kelly, P McCartan, P O’Hanlon, P Harte (0-1), B McDonnell (0-1), T Canavan (0-1, 1F), P McGirr (1-0), R Canavan (0-2), D Canavan (0-3, 1F), J Oguz (1-1). Subs: P Traynor for Morrow, C Corrigan for Kavanagh, E Kelly for O’Hanlon, C McGinley for McGirr


Carrickmore: J McCallan, S Sweeney, L McBride (0-1), S Loughran, N Allison, R Donnelly, R Slane (0-1), D Fullerton (0-6, 5F), S Donnelly, C Munroe, J Donaghy, A Fullerton, L McGarrity (0-2, 1F, 1M), M Penrose (1-1), C Daly. Subs: B Conway for S Loughran, R Loughran for Daly, M Donnelly (0-1) for S Donnelly, M Donaghy for A Fullerton, B McLaughlin for Slane


Referee: S Campbell, Stewartstown



Advertise with us