Advertise with us

HTC Crowned All Ireland Champions

Sunday 08.04.2018
Team Talk Mag

Holy Trinity Cookstown 0-19 St.Nathys College 1-6

Holy Trinity won a first ever Paddy Drummond Cup title when they eased to victory over St.Nathys College at Croke Park yesterday afternoon.

Holy Trinity Cookstown dominated throughout with the ten point winning margin in no way flattering them. They led by seven points at the break and they would have been out of sight but for the fact that St.Nathys keeper Alan Davey pulled off three top class saves.

Eunan Devlin opened the scoring and by the 11th minute Holy Trinity had six points on the board with Mark Devlin and Tiernan Quinn among their scorers. Davey then denied both Mark Devlin and Eunan Devlin and it took until the 28th minute for St.Nathys to open their account from a James O’Hara free.

By that stage five of Holy Trinity’s forwards had registered with Tiernan Mackle and team Captain Shane Murphy also on target and while O’Hara knocked over another free it was Holy Trinity who led 0-9 to 0-2.

There was no let up from the winners on the restart with Tiernan Quinn, Murphy and Mark Devlin all tagging on points. Kuba Callaghan and Oisin Philips had points for St.Nathys but it was only academic at that stage.

The Tyrone school played some superb football to rack up a big tally and while Callaghan got a late goal for the Connaught champions it was only a consolation score at that stage.

Holy Trinity Cookstown: C Loane, P Quinn, T Quinn (0-1, 1F), T McNamee, O Mulgrew, C Donnelly, M McKearney, E Gallagher (0-1), P Lagan, K Robinson, E Devlin (0-1), S Murphy (0-3,), T Quinn (0-7, 5F), Tiernan Mackle (0-1), M Devlin (0-5, 3F). Subs: C Quinn for E Devlin, A Moore for Mackle, S McKenna for P Quinn, D Canavan for Robinson, Thomas Mackle for Donnelly

St.Nathys College: A Davey, M Dillon, D Casey, B O’Hanlon, S O’Hara, J Lunt, B Molloy (0-1), D McBrien, J Doory, O Hester, J O’Hara (0-2, 2F), L Connor, O Philips (0-1, 1F), K Philips, K Callaghan (1-2, 2F). Subs: L Hester for Dillon, M Coyle for O’Hara, M Finan for O Hester, A Dillon for K Philips, C Groarke for Connor, D McHugh for O’Hanlon

Referee: J Bermingham, Cork



Advertise with us