Advertise with us

Hurlers Come Up Just Short

Saturday 08.06.2019
Team Talk Mag


Tyrone produced a very impressive performance at Inniskeen in their Nicky Rackard Cup Semi Final but came up short against an Armagh side who always seemed to carry a more potent scoring threat.

Both teams showed one change from their original starting fifteens with Ryan Mc Kernan coming in for Ruairi Devlin on the Tyrone side and Paddy Mc Grane replacing Paul Gaffney on the Armagh team.

It was a nip and tuck opening ten minutes with the teams tied at four points apiece before a defensive slip in the Tyrone rearguard allowed corner forward Danny Magee in for a goal.

Tyrone however played some exceptional hurling and stayed in touch with several excellent frees from the outstanding Casey. With team captain Dermott Begley and Tiernan Morgan driving their team forward at every opportunity they were unlucky to reach the break a point behind trailing 0-11 to 1-9.

The pace never slackened throughout a hugely entertaining game of hurling. Tyrone wing forward Lorcan Devlin rattled the crossbar with a superb effort but a few minutes later Casey fired to the net after Mulgrew had created the opportunity.

Points from Casey and Tiernan Morgan put Tyrone five clear before Armagh rallied. Centre forward Mc Guinness, who was hugely impressive throughout, hit the net and Dean Gaffney converted three frees to edge his team in front.

Both sides threw caution to the wind creating numerous chances with both goalkeepers being called on to make superb stops. Gaffney and Casey swapped further scores before Brian Mc Gurk broke through only to be denied by a great stop from Armagh keeper Doherty.

Unfortunately for Tyrone they could not find the net with any of the numerous late chances they created and Armagh advanced to the final after an epic battle with an improving Tyrone side.

Final score: Armagh 2-19, Tyrone 1-20

Scorers: Tyrone; D Casey 1-13 (0-10 frees), Brian Mc Gurk (0-2), Ryan Mc Kernan, Lorcan Devlin, Tiernan Morgan, Josh Ferguson and Matthew Mulgrew 0-1 each.

Armagh: Dean Gaffney 0-10 (6 frees), Odhran Curry 0-3, Eoin Mc Guinness 1-4, Danny Magee 1-0, Shaun Toal 0-1, Simon Doherty 0-1(free)




Advertise with us