Advertise with us

LADIES| Tyrone U-16 Girls Show Their Mettle.

Monday 04.04.2016
Team Talk Mag


Tyrone took on neighbours Derry in the Ulster U-16 Championship on Saturday and were made to fight all the way before emerging with a narrow but deserved win.

An early point from a free by Aoife Byrne opened the scoring before Derry levelled. Byrne added a second free scored  to edge Tyrone in front again but almost immediately Derry levelled the game at 0-2 apiece.

The teams swapped points for a third time before Bronagh Mc Kenna fired to the net  to give her side a three point lead. A second goal for Tyrone, this time when Laura Fullerton got herself on the end of a fine move as Tyrone began to take control.

However as often happens Tyrone began to coast and Derry caught them on the hop from a counter attack and within two minutes the Oak Leafers had bagged a second major to reduce the gap to two points.

The home side responded well when Caoimhe Barr found the strong running Ellie Jay Mc Menamin who immediately finished to the net. That goal left the half time score Tyrone 3-05 Derry 2-03

The second half saw the Tyrone defence settle well while Jade Leonard sent over 2 points from play before being substituted due to an ankle injury. Erin Mc Mahon who had come on as a replacement for Murray settled the midfield battle winning vital possession for Tyrone.

With Mossey, O’Hanlon and Seaney holding firm in the  full back line the Derry attackers were finding chances hard to come by. Following a converted Tyrone free a quick break by the Derry girls led to a goal as Derry took the lead for the first time.

With an away win looking like the most probable outcome Tyrone were forced to dig deep but their resolve was rewarded when Mc Kenna bagged two late points to secure a memorable win.

Final score : Tyrone 3-10 Derry 3-09



1 Caoimhe Meeke Fr Rocks
2 Grace Mc Guiness Trillick
3 Bronagh Mossey Badoney
4 Catherine O Hanlon Moy
5 Maria O Hagan Glenelly
6 Ikea Collins Coalisland
7 Grace O’Neill drumragh
8 Aoife Byrne Aghyaran
9 Aoibhainn Murray An Charraig Mhor
10 Ellie-Jay Mc Menamin Strabane
11 Bronagh Mc Kenna Cill Iseal
12 Caiomhe Barr Owen Roes
13 Sophie Coyle Castlederg
14 Jade Leonard Coalisland
15 Laura Fullerton AnCcharraig Mhor

16 Sarah Traynor Cill Iseal
17 Niamh Fox Loughmacrory
18 Sophie Coyle Mna Na Deirge
19 Kathryn Donaghey Drumragh
20 Grace O Neill Drumragh
21 Jade Leonard Coalisland
22 Orla Warnock Sperrin Og
23 Grainne Mullin Errigal Ciaran
24 Laura Fullerton An Charraig Mhor
25 Orla Mulgrew Cill Iseal
26 Aine Mc Nulty Aodh Ruadh
27 Brenna Mallon Aodh Ruadh
28 Erin Mc Mahlon Cappagh
29 Aoife Seaney TllickEoghain Rua
30 Bridie Mackle Rock St Patrick’s




E Mc Mahon for Murray

D Gallagher for Fullerton

M Corrigan for Barr

A Seaney for G Mc c Guinness

G Mullan for  Leonard

S l Franey for S Coyle



Advertise with us