Advertise with us

Tyrone Win Lory Meagher Cup in an Amazing Game of Hurling

Saturday 09.06.2012
Team Talk Mag

Fourteen Man Tyrone Win the Lory Meagher Cup in Croke Park.  What an amazing game.  Tyrone 2-24 Fermanagh 3-20.

Declan McGarry gets a straight red and a row has broken out on the pitch.  Shea Corrigan from Fermanagh and Paude McHugh both sent off.

Paul McGoldrick replaces Andrew Breslin on the Fermanagh team.  Now in injury time.

Justin Kelly levels from a free with 18 minutes gone in extra time and Conor Grogan puts 14 man Tyrone in front.  Tyrone 2-24 Fermanagh 3-20

Peter O Connor replaces Seamus Hagan as Corrigan thumps over another Fermanagh point.

GOAL Tyrone!  Justin Kelly clips it in with his back to goal.  Sides level once more. Incredible game.

Stephen Donnelly points for Tyrone but Corrigan cancels it out in the 4th minute.  Tyrone 1-22 Fermanagh 3-19

Sean Corrigan extends the Fermanagh lead to three again in the 1st minute as Cathal McGarry replaces Shane Mulholland and Conor Gallagher is replaced by Paudie McHugh for Tyrone.  Francie McBrien replaces Karl Kehoe for Fermanagh.

Half time in extra time and Tyrone trail by two points.  Tyrone 1-21 Fermanagh 3-17.  Up hill struggle for Tyrone now.

9th minute of extra time.  Sean Corrigan wins possession lays it off to John Duffy and he points once more.  Damien Casey comes back on and replaces Shea McKiver.  Tyrone 1-21 Fermanagh 3-17

6th min of extra time – Midfielder Justin Kelly slots his sixth point after a lovely run up the right hand side and under the Hogan Stand.

Fermanagh open the gap to two points as a result of the foul on Barry Smith.  Tyrone 1-20 Fermanagh 3-16

Aidan Kelly receives a straight red as Tyrone are reduced to 14 men after 3 minutes of extra time.

Fermanagh take first blood in extra time through Sean Corrigan with a point from play after 1 min.

Extra Time up and running.

John Devlin pulls off a wonderful save in the dying seconds to save Tyrone.  It’s extra time in Croke Park!  Tyrone 1-20 Fermanagh 3-14

Conor Grogan gets a free for Tyrone from the 20 metre line.

Fermanagh in the lead again through a John Duffy point from play in the 71st minute.

Fermanagh take the lead through Curran then Kelly levels for Tyrone.

69th minute,  Fermanagh win a free through Andrew Breslin.  John Duffy pops the free over.  All Square.  Tyrone 1-18 Fermanagh 3-12

Justin Kelly from way down town.  Tyrone back in front as Seamus Hagan replaces Damien Casey.  66 mins gone.

Fermanagh Stephen Donnelly replaced Stevie McCrory as Fermanagh draw level through Ryan Bogue.  What a game!

64th min – Declan McGarry surges forward for Fermanagh and takes another point.  Tyrone 1-17 Fermanagh 3-10

Mike O’Gorman is replaced by Sean Paul Begley and Francie McBrien is replaced by Shane Mulholland for Fermanagh.

Aidan Kelly gets onto the ball after a pass from Shea McKiver and Tyrone are two clear after 62 minutes.  Tyrone 1-17 Fermanagh 3-9

Justin Kelly strikes yet another 65 and Tyrone take the lead again.

Sean Corrigan pulls on another one from way out on the right and the sides are level again.  Tyrone 1-15 Fermanagh 3-9

Brilliant passage of play for Tyrone.  A sideline cut from Damien Casey finds Rory O’Neill who handpasses to Justin Kelly who lets fly from 50 metres to point.

Level! Sean Corrigan picks up a loose ball and Tyrone are under real pressure now.  Tyrone 1-14 Fermanagh 3-8

53rd minute and a Fermanagh free is converted by John Duffy.  It’s a one point game once more.  Tyrone 1-14 Fermanagh 3-7

Damien Casey fouls John Paul McGarry and midfielder John Duffy points from 55 metres.  Tyrone lead back down to two points with 49 mins gone.

47th minute – Rory O’Neill replaces Gerard Gilmore at top of the right.

43rd min – Midfielder John Duffy thumps over a long range point from play to reduce the Tyrone lead to three.  Tyrone 1-14 Fermanagh 3-5

A great bit of persistence from Gerard Gilmore is rewarded as Sean Og Grogan get a pass and takes a point from 20m.

A couple of wides apiece at the start of the second period.  Damien Casey wins a free on the 13m line and he taps it over.  Tyrone 1-13 Fermanagh 3-4

John Devlin takes over in the Tyrone goals in the second half.  Fermanagh have replaced Paul McGoldrick at corner forward with Barry Smith.

Half time in Croke Park.  Tyrone were rocked by three poor goals in the opening 35 minutes but they have settled well since and go into the break two points up.  Tyrone 1-12 Fermanagh 3-4

Conor Grogan is fouled as Daniel Teague picks up a yellow card.  Damien Casey slots over his third free of the afternoon.

Tyrone are in front.  Shea McKiver wins a loose ball out on the right and fires over from 30 metres from under the Hogan Stand.  Tyrone 1-11 Fermanagh 3-4

Both sides trade points.  Firstly Paul McGoldrick fires over a free for Fermanagh and then Sean Og Grogan blasts over a point from play in the 30th minute.

GOAL Tyrone – Sean Og Grogan gains possession following a pass from Conor Grogan.    They’re level.   Tyrone 1-9 Fermanagh 3-3

Huge free from Justin Kelly from just over the half way line in the 27th minute.

GOAL Fermanagh in the 24th minute.  Sean Corrigan latches on to a loose ball on the ground after Shea Curran does the hard work.

Tyrone now within a point.  Sean Og Grogan from play following a mistake in the Fermanagh defence.  The Tyrone full forward line are in fine form.

18 min – Sean Og Grogan gets on the scoresheet following a long ball in from Conor Gallagher.  Tyrone 0-7 Fermanagh 2-3

Justin Kelly once more.  A 65 in the 17th minute.  Tyrone back to within 3.

Justin Kelly converts a free from the half way line following a foul on Shea McKiver.  Tyrone 0-5 Fermanagh 2-3

Damien Casey wins and fires over a free from 40 metres to ease the pressure on Tyrone.  Tyrone 0-4 Fermanagh 2-3

Fermanagh GOAL – 10th minute.  A poor half hearted show is not handled properly by Patton and the ball rolls into the Tyrone net.

Sean Corrigan fires over another Fermanagh point in the 9th minute.

A Damien Casey free in the 7th minute folowled by a Gerard Gilmore point in the 8th pulls Tyrone to within two points.  Tyrone 0-3 Fermanagh 1-2

Fermanagh move four clear.  Sean Corrigan with a neat point from play.

GOAL Fermanagh – Shea Corrigan taps in from the ground after Jason Kelly in the Tyrone goal fails to deal with a long ball in.

Sean Corrigan picks up a free wide out of the left and Paul McGoldrick slots the free to level the scores.

2 min – Conor Grogan opens the scoring for Tyrone after a long ball in from Aidan Kelly.

The game is on. Tyrone will play into the Canal End in the first half.

Fermanagh show two changes prior to the throw in.  Fergus Bannon comes in for Eoin Mahon at right corner back while Andrew Breslin replaces Cathal McGarry at full back.

According to the official Tyrone GAA Twitter account the Tyrone Senior Hurling team will start as selected.

Tyrone Team – Jason Kelly, Mickey Kelly, Damian Maguire, Ryan Winters, Mike O’Gorman, Martin Grogan, Stephen McCrory, Justin

Kelly, Conor Gallagher, Aidan Kelly, Shea McKiver, Damien Casey, Gerard Gilmore, Sean Og Grogan, Conor Grogan

Subs – John Devlin, Sean Paul Begley, Stephen Donnelly, Chris Cross, Rory O’Neill, Seamus Hagan, Paudie McHugh, Jason Patton, Niall O’Neill,Brian McGilloway, Peter O’Connor

Fermanagh Team – Dwayne McPhillips, Eoin Mahon, Cathal McGarry, Daniel Teague, Francie McBrien, Mark Slevin, Karl Kehoe, John Duffy, Ryan Bogue, Declan McGarry, Eoin Morrissey, John Paul McGarry, Seán Corrigan, Shea Curran, Paul McGoldrick


Advertise with us