Advertise with us

Lough Edge The Verdict

Sunday 25.09.2022
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

LCC Tyrone SFC Round 1
Loughmacrory 0-9 Derrylaughan 0-7

The second game in the double bill at Edendork on Sunday afternoon was also a close encounter as Loughmacrory edged past Derrylaughan for the second year in a row in the LCC Senior championship.

It was a contest were scores were at a premium with both sides hard to break down and with a minute to go we looked set for extra time with the sides locked together at 0-7 apiece. The St.Theresas then scored two points and that looked to be that but there was still drama to come as Derrylaughan were awarded an injury time penalty but Tomas Carney set it wide as Loughmacrory set up a quarter final meeting with the winner of the Coalisland v Carrickmore tie.

Tomas Carney opened the scoring from a free inside sixty seconds and the same player doubled the Kevin Barrys advantage in the 10th minute but any hopes of a high scoring affair soon disappeared. Gareth Donaghy opened Loughmacrory’s account before a well taken score from out on the left wing from team Captain Shane Dobbs levelled matters in the 22nd minute. Cathaoir Gallagher and Stephen McGrath exchanged points before Derrylaughan half back Conor McCabe put his side in front with a well taken point from distance. It was Loughmacrory though who had the final say of the half with a well struck free off the ground into the wind from keeper Oisin O’Kane to leave it all square 0-4 each.

McCabe opened the second half scoring inside thirty seconds but Pauraic Meenagh levelled matters in the 33rd minute from a placed ball. Meenagh and McGrath traded points before Gallagher edged Loughmacrory in front in the 51st minute. McGrath and Leo Meenan both struck the post with efforts for points for their respective sides before a free from out on the right wing from Derrylaughan substitute Cathal Canavan left it 0-7 each in the 27th minute. Stephen Grimes then burst through to drive over before Meenagh split the posts with a superb effort from play from distance.

As the contest slipped into injury time McGrath sent in a high ball from out on the left wing which Conor Kennedy won before being fouled and the referee awarded a penalty. Carney took the spot kick but he slipped as he kicked the ball and it went well wide as Loughmacrory held on to book a place in the last eight.

Loughmacrory – Oisin O’Kane (0-1, 1F), Ronan Fox, Nathan Kelly, Dara Curran, Antoin Fox, Pearse Grimes, Eoin Mullin, Aodhan Donaghy, Cathal Donaghy, Shane Dobbs (0-1), Conal Grimes, Pauraic Meenagh (0-3, 2F), Cathaoir Gallagher (0-2), Stephen Grimes (0-1), Gareth Donaghy (0-1). Subs – Colm Logue for Conal Grimes, Leo Meenan for Pearse Grimes, Diarmuid Gallagher for Gareth Donaghy

Derrylaughan – James Kennedy, Conor Kennedy, Ciaran O’Hagan, Colm O’Hagan, Mark Robinson, Liam Gervin, Conor McCabe (0-2), Brian Kennedy, Ciaran Gervin, Fergal McAliskey, Stephen McGrath (0-2), Conor Hughes, Sean Robinson, Tomas Carney (0-2, 1F), Darragh Carney. Subs – Ciaran Quinn for Ciaran Gervin, Cathal Canavan (0-1, 1F) for Hughes

Referee – Stephen Campbell, Stewartstown




Advertise with us