Advertise with us

Mc Girr Bros Quarries Division 3 Wrap Up

Sunday 05.05.2024
Team Talk Mag
All County League


A few big games in north Tyrone today with Glenelly seeing off the challenge of Brackaville on a scoreline of 1-21 to 1-6 having led 1-8 to 1-3 at the break. Brackaville made the perfect start with a goal from  Ronan Mc Hugh but from there it was all Glenelly. Shea Fee, Daire Carberry, Mc Hugh and Gary Ferguson (3) were on target for Brackaville but they were well beaten in the end by the north Tyrone side. Cormac Mc Bride top scored for Glenelly with 1-2 while Lorcan Mc Cullagh (4), Nathan Mc Laughlin (4), Ronan O’Kane (3) and Eoghan Mc Connell were among the scorers for the winners.

Augher made the long run to Clan na nGael and after an impressive display went home with a 5-13 to 1-11 win having led at the break 3-7 to 1-8. Augher started well and raced into a 1.03 to 1pt before Ciaran Kerlin goal brought Clann back into game on the 15th minute. Two goals by Augher left them going into break leading 3.07 to 1.08. The visitors dominated the 2nd half and two Shea Browne & a Conor McAleer point was all Clann could muster in the 2nd half. CNG scores Ciaran Kerlin 1.0, Shea Browne 0-4 Conor McAleer 3pts, Terence McCaughey 2 pts, Mark Henry 1 pt and David Conway 1 pt.

Augher scorers: Tiernan Mc Elroy 0-4, Raymond Mc Elroy2-1, Darragh Kavanagh 2-5, Eoghan Keenan 1-1, Odhran Mc Ginn 0-2, Ben Trainor 0-1

Aghaloo enjoyed a comfortable victory over a young and inexperienced Tattyreagh side winning comfortably 3-15 to 0-7. The winners led from the off and reached the break leading 1-9 to 0-4. It was a day to remember for Niall Mc Elroy who hit 2-11 for his side in a very impressive scoring display. Aghaloo’s third goal came courtesy of Conor Mullen while Jody Mc Glone 0-2, Patrick Kinder and Paudi Mc Geary completed the scoring.  Jarlath Mc Donagh 0-3, Keeley Mc Donagh 0-1, Johnny Harkin 0-1, Ronan Collins 0-1 and Peadar Mullin 0-1 did the scoring for the Tatts on a day when a missed penalty after twenty four minutes summed up their lack of confidence.

Killeeshil defeated Urney 2-13 to 0-9. Ryan (7) and Kyle  (2) Henry shared the points between them for Urney while Tomas Hoy top scored for Killeeshil with 0-7. Michael O’Neill hit 1-3 with Ciaran O’Neill (1-0), Ronan O’Neill, Paul O’Neill and Michael Carty hitting a point apiece.

Derrytresk came up short after their long run to Sigerson Park losing out 1-13 to 1-9. Once again Niall. Gavin top scored for the Hill Men with 1-2 while Eoin Mc Nally (2), Caolán Corr (2), Odhran Hughes, Conor Fitzgerald and Caolan O’Donnell were all on target. Oran Mc Grath top scored for the home side with an impressive 0-7 while Haydn Mc Namee (1-2), Conal Crawford (0-2) and Kelvin Nelson (0-2) all contributed to their side’s win.

Brocagh defeated Donaghmore in their season opener 1-13 to 1-11 having trailed by two points at the break. Mickey Hughes top scored for the Emmetts with nine points while James Mc Kiver hit a very important 1-2 and Cathal Donnelly also added a point. Nathan Toner hit 1-1 for the Village team while there were three points apiece from Sean Mc Caul and Joe Kelly. The remaining four points were shared equally among Pat Mc Ateer, Cormac Mc Cartan, Oisin Howell and Ryan Mc Laughlan.

Drumquin and Errigal produced a high scoring and entertaining game at Dunmoyle. The Wolfe Tones won the throw up immediately kicked it in for a quick marked point after just eleven seconds. Errigal kept possession comfortably for over a minute when Ben McDermot was fouled and Colm Mellon slotted over from way out on the Dunmoyle Stand side. The game got a little scrappy as both teams made several unforced errors. However Drumquin found a way kicking two points in a row before Ben Mc Dermott got in behind the defence for a goal chance only to see his shot saved superbly by the Drumquin keeper.

Drumquin kept pegging away and moved clear of Errigal hitting the net twice on two quick counter attacks. Errigal replied well and kept possession for around three minutes but failed to trouble the umpires. The Half time score was 2-7 0-5 to Drumquin.

Errigal came well into the game early in the second half from two free kicks converted by Colm Mellon and Fintan Kelly added a fine few points. Ewan McCabe got a point before he was substituted off. His sub Robert Harper only took a minute to get on the scoresheet with fine right foot strike. Ben Mc Dermott got 1v1 with the keeper which led to a goal but Drumquin remained on top and ran out convincing winners FT Errigal 1-10, Drumquinn 3-15

Errigal scorers:Colm Mellon 0-3, Ben McDermott 1-1, Ewan McCabe 0-1. Fintan Kelly 0-2, Robert Harper 0-2, Pierce Mullin 0-1

Drumquin Scorers: Sean Mc Donagh 2-6, Finnen Patterson 0-5, Oisin Mc Menamin 1-1 and Ronan Strain 0-3



Advertise with us