Advertise with us

Mc Girr Bros Quarries Division Three Wrap Up

Saturday 06.07.2024
Team Talk Mag
All County League

Round 9 Tyrone GAA Div 3 Wrap Up In Association With Mc Girr Bros Quarries

D3 R9 Results

Derrytresk 0-11 Castlederg 3-6

Aghaloo1-12  Killeeshil 1-10

Strabane 1-8  Clan na nGael 0-10

Augher 0-9  Drumquin 1-11

Glenelly 1-10 Eskra 0-10

Killyman 1-13  Urney 1-8

Errigal Ciaran 0-10  Brocagh 2-6

Tattyreagh 0-14  Donaghmore 3-7

Friday night’s north Tyrone derby between Strabane and CNG produced a low scoring contest that was eventually won by the home side on a score line of 1-8 t0 0-10.  There was little between the teams in the first half but it was CNG that led by one at the break 0-6 to 0-5 after Terence Mc Gaughey converted a free just before the short whistle. The second half was tight with defenders on both sides very much on top. CNG led until the 57th minute when a Strabane goal from ace marksman Oran Mc Grath gave the Sigersons the lead for the first time. It was a lead they managed to hold on to until the final whistle. CNG scorers: Terence Mc Caughey 0-3. Shea Browne 0-2, David Conway 0-2 and Aaron Devine 0-3. Scorers for Strabane were Oran Mc Grath 1-5 and a point apiece from Conal Crawford, Gavin Molloy and Kelvin Nelson.

Glenelly hosted Eskra in a must win match for both sides but it was the north Tyrone men who were celebrating at the end. Eskra led at the break 0-7 to 0-6 but they added only three more scores after the restart. Glenelly got the all important goal seven minutes into the  second half from Ronan O’Kane while Lorcan Mc Cullagh’s six points had a major bearing on the result.  Others to score for the winners were Cormac Mc Bride 0-2, Nathan Mc Laughlin and Rory Kennedy 0-1 each. Eskra’s scorers were Joe Mc Carroll 0-4, Aaron Kelly 0-1, Cathal Meegan 0-3,  Cormac Hughes 0-1 and Luke Kelly 0-1.

The battle between the basement clubs resulted in a win for Killyman and left Urney still seeking their first win of the season.  The home side trailed at the break 1-4 to 0-6 with Daryl Maxwell getting the all important goal for the border men. Leading by two points the game was more or less decided by a last minute penalty that was converted by Enda Mc Gahan who finished top scorer for his team with 1-7. Cathal Mc Gahan 0-4, and a point apiece from Eamon and Michael Donnelly completed the scoring for Killyman. Ryan Henry hit 0-5 for Urney with Daryl Maxwell 1-1 and Keith Neilis 0-2 rounding off the scoring for Urney.

Castlederg made the long journey to Derrytresk on Friday night and after a tough hour of football claimed the points. Padraig Keyes, Ben Harper and Brian Coyle made major contributions to the Derg win. Matty Mc Menamin hit the net twice for the Derg with Daire Corry firing over four points. Paddy Lynch also found the net and a point apiece from Mark Corry  and Oran O’Donnell rounded off the scoring for the Derg. Derrytresk will be disappointed to have lost at home but their lack of a serious scoring  threat is costing them. Their scores came from Cathal O’Neill 0-2, Pat Campbell 0-2, and a point apiece from Eoghan Mc Nally, Caolan Corr, Ultan Mc Kee and Niall Gavin.

Even the return to action of Darragh Kavanagh was not enough to prevent Augher from falling to defeat at the hands of a resurgent Drumquin Wolfe Tones.  The visitors established a 0-7 to 0-4 lead in the first half with Oisin Gormley and Sean Mc Donagh among the points. The key score however came in the first minute of the second half when Oisin Gormley found the net for the visitors.  Gormley finished the game with 1-5 while Sean Mc Donagh’s three points were hugely important in deciding the outcome of the game. Others to find the target for Drumquin were Eoin Skelton, Niall Mc Alynn and Finnen Patterson. The Augher scorers on the night were Ronan Mc Elroy 0-3, Tiernan Mc Elroy 0-2, Declan Connolly 0-2 and Darragh Kavanagh 0-2.

A brace of late points sealed a 1-12 to 1-10 win for Aghaloo over Killeeshil and put them clear at the top of the table. Ciaran Reilly scored the Killeeshil goal from a penalty while others to get among the scores were Tomas Hoy 0-3, Dillon O’Neill 0-2 and a point apiece from Luke Donnelly, Cormac Donaghy, Paul O’Neill, Michael O’Neill and Cahil Rafferty. Aghaloo left it late to snatch victory with Ruairi Mc Glone (0-2) at the centre of most of their best attacks. The sides were tied at the break 1-3 to 0-6 with James O’Hara (1-0) getting the Aghaloo goal. Jody Mc Glone (0-4), Gary O’Gorman (0-3) and Niall Mc Elroy were all among the points for the winners.




Advertise with us