Advertise with us

Mc Mahon Listed On Provisional International Rules Panel

Wednesday 05.10.2011
Team Talk Mag

TG4 Ireland International Rules manager Anthony Tohill has named Joe Mc Mahon as the only Tyrone player to be included in his 31 man provisional training panel for the upcoming two game series tour of Australia. In what has been an eventful few days for the Omagh born Primary Schools Coach Big Joe is one of nine Ulster men on the training panel and is hopeful of making the final twenty three man travelling party. The group has been training since the middle of September and a final panel of 23 will be announced on October 11. The team captain will also be announced on the same day.

Amongst the current training panel are some of the most experienced players to represent Ireland in the cross code including Steven McDonnell, Stephen Cluxton and Kevin Reilly. Tadgh Kenelly and Pearse Hanley will join the panel on arrival in Australia and in all 15 counties are represented on the preliminary panel.

Team manager Anthony Tohill said: “We are very happy with the panel that has been assembled and with the mood within the squad. Those who have trained with us have applied themselves diligently and are looking forward to the challenge of regaining the Cormac McAnallen trophy.

“A number of other players were approached to join the training panel but were unable to do so due to injury and other commitments.”

“The Selectors and I are working our way through the difficult job of cutting the training panel to the required number of 23. Players not selected in the final 23 will be on standby. ” Tohill added.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Criostóir Ó Cuana extended his best
wishes to the team in the midst of their ongoing preparations.

He said: “I know first-hand the level of detail and planning that has already gone into gearing up for the Series and those preparations will only intensify in the days and weeks ahead.

“I wish all of those still involved with the panel every success in their endeavours in trying to make the final cut and I acknowledge the commitment and passion that the backroom team members, headed by team manager Anthony, have already shown to date.”

The Irish coaching team includes Eoin Liston (Kerry), Kevin O’Brien (Wicklow), Seán Óg de Paor (Galway) and Kieran McGeeney (Armagh). Mike Mc Gurn is the team’s physical trainer.

Ireland will play Australia in games in Etihad Stadium Melbourne, on October 28th and the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast on November 4 at 7.45pm (Australian time). The team will depart for Australia on Oct 22nd and both Tests will be broadcast live on TG4.

TG4 Ireland International Rules Preliminary Panel 2011

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Leighton Glynn (Wicklow)
Rob Kelly (Kildare)
Emmet Bolton (Kildare)
Brendan Murphy (Carlow)
Colm Begley (Laois)
Kevin Reilly (Meath)
Karl Lacey (Donegal)
Neil McGee (Donegal)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Steven McDonnell (Armagh)
Ciarán McKeever (Armagh)
Danny Hughes (Down)
Kevin McKernan (Down)
Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
Darren Hughes (Monaghan)
Finian Hanley (Galway)
Donal Vaughan (Mayo)
Eoin Cadogan (Cork)
Aidan Walsh (Cork)
Patrick Kelly (Cork)
Tomas O’Connor (Kildare)
Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)
Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
Darran O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda)
Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon)
Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans)
Zach Touhy (Laois – Carlton)
Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans)
Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions)



Advertise with us