Advertise with us

McDevitt Cup Success For St.Josephs

Monday 18.12.2017
Team Talk Mag

Click here for photos from the game.

St.Josephs Donaghmore are Danske Bank McDevitt Cup winners after winning an enthralling all Tyrone decider against Sacred Heart Omagh at Father Hackett Park in Augher on Monday afternoon. It was a contest that had everything between two superbly committed sides. An early Senan Morgan goal helped the winners lead but then Sacred Heart got on top with Tiernan Cox twice finding the net after Pearse Goan had hammered in a brilliant goal as well, the latter also missing a penalty. With the last kick of the first half a Ronan Donnelly free went straight to the net to leave Donaghmore only two points adrift at the short whistle.

Donaghmore picked up were they had left off on the restart with Callum Lagan and Eoghan O’Donnell both scoring goals as they made it 3-3 without reply. Cox then completed his Hattrick but the winners came straight down the field in the next attack for Lagan to bag his second major of the game. Sacred Heart were awarded another penalty and this time Goan made no mistake before a Matthew Hayes goal helped close the gap to the minimum. It was anybody’s game at this stage but crucially Conn Sweeney got another goal for the winners as a cracking encounter finished 6-9 to 6-5. Full credit to the players and management of both sides for a brilliant spectacle.


St Joseph’s Donaghmore: C McCartan, C Heagney, E Nugent, M McAliskey,

J Muldoon, M McCallan, D Sweeney, C Lagan (2-0), S Morgan (1-3), HJ Cunningham (0-1), R Donnelly (1-4), E O’Donnell (1-0), C Drayne (0-1), L Grimes, C Sweeney (1-0). Sub: R McKillion for C Sweeney


Sacred Heart Omagh: C Kelly, J Gallagher, C Conway, T Mullan, T Campbell, F Glackin, F Patterson, P Goan (2-0), S McKenna, S Drumm, T Cunningham (0-3), C McArdle (0-1), T Cox (3-0), M Hayes (1-1), A McSorley. Sub: L Mossey for McSorley


Referee: B McGinn, Killyclogher



Advertise with us