Advertise with us

McErlain Fires Derry Into Quarter Final

Sunday 22.04.2018
Team Talk Mag

It took a Johnny McErlain in the second period of extra time to put Derry into the quarter final of the 2018 Electric Ireland Ulster Minor Football Championship.

That outcome looked highly unlikely at the half time break as a dismal first half performance saw the Oakleafers register just one Iarlaith Donaghy point.  It was a half dominated by a very well organised Monaghan side who in stark contrast had six players on the scoresheet.  Karl Gallagher and Jason Irwin were on hand to hit two points apiece in the opening half with Lochlainn Power, Aaron Mulligan, Joel Wilson and Donach Swinburne also on target for the Farney men.  At half time the scoreline read Monaghan 0-8 Derry 0-1.

After the short whistle Derry got a grip of midfield and thumped over eleven points to Monaghan’s 1-1.  Substitute Sean Kearney with three points had a massive impact on the game.   He was backed up with two points apiece from Magherafelt’s Eoghain Hawe and Conor McAteer from Newbridge.  The remainder of the second half scores came from Conleth McGuckin, PJ McAleese, Enda Downey and Dara Mooney.  Monaghan had just Jordan McGarrell’s goal and Sean Jones’ point to show for the thirty minutes football.  Full Time Score – Derry 0-12 Monaghan 1-9.

As with normal time Monaghan dominated the first period of extra time hitting Derry for a goal and three points.  Jordan McGarrell’s opening point was followed up by a goal from Aaron Mulligan with Michael Meehan.  History was made towards the end of the half as Monaghan goalkeeper Ryan Farrelly kicked a point from play following a short free kick.  Derry had to settle for just two Enda Downey points as the half time in extra time break arrived.

The final period was dominated by Derry’s two majors coming from the boot of Eoghain Hawe’s penalty and Johnny McErlain’s late winning goal when all hope looked to be gone.  A late Sean Jones point wasn’t enough to help Monaghan secure the draw.  Final Score – Derry 2-14 Monaghan 2-13.

Derry Scorers
Eoghain Hawe 1-2, Johnny McErlain 1-0, Enda Downey 0-3, Sean Kearney 0-3, Conor McAteer 0-2, PJ McAleese 0-1, Dara Mooney 0-1, Iarlaith Donaghy 0-1, Conleth McGuckin 0-1

Monaghan Scorers
Jordan McGarrell 1-1, Aaron Monaghan 1-1, Karl Gallagher, 0-2, Jason Irwin 0-2, Sean Jones 0-2, Joel Wilson 0-1, Lochlainn Power 0-1, Donnish Swinburne 0-1, Michael Meehan 0-1, Ryan Farrelly 0-1

Referee – Karol Doherty (Antrim)





Advertise with us