Advertise with us

Minors Come Up Short Against Derry

Saturday 18.05.2024
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

Ulster minor championship semi-final

Tyrone 1-10 2-14 Derry

A strong second half performance from reigning All Ireland champions, Derry saw them qualify for this year’s Ulster final at the expense of Tyrone. With the luxury of having five starters from last year Derry went through the gears in the second period to defeat a dogged Tyrone team in Owenbeg.

Tyrone started the game with intent and were worthy leaders after ten minutes following a mark from Peter Colton and a brace of Shea McDermott frees. The Tyrone management would have been delighted with the opening as their side were nullifying Derry’s considerable threat and creating chances of their own.

Disaster struck in the 14th minute when a misplaced free in their own half by Tyrone was gleefully accepted by Derry with Dylan Rocks finishing to the net. Ger Dillon put Derry in front moments later but Davin McKeown tied the game with a nice point. Dillon edged Derry back in front. Tyrone did regain the initiative but will rue missed opportunities from play and frees, with only a Lorcan McMurray point to show from a period of dominance as the half drew to a close with a couple of goal chances missed.

Derry had a dream start to the second half Caoimhin Hargan kicked 1-1 in a minute before a Young free left five between them. Credit Tyrone as they responded with a well worked Peter Colton goal, but that was as it got for the Red Hands as Derry hit six of the next seven points to pull clear as the game entered the final quarter.

Points from Colton, Sean Corry, Peter McGoldrick and McGinley were mere consolation as Derry ran out seven point victors. Derry will face Armagh in the Ulster final, while Tyrone will enter the All Ireland B competition, for the Paul McGirr Cup.

Tyrone O Watson, P McGinley (0-1), P Goodman, E Conway, S Corry(0-1), D McKeown(0-1), A Quinn, E Donaghy ,P Colton (1-3, 1m 2f) P Donaghy, J Concannon, S Teague, L McMurray (0-1), S McDermott (0-2,2f) L McGeary (0-2)

Subs E Mansell, P McGoldrick(0-1,1f), D Devlin, J Mulgrew, M McNamee


Advertise with us