Advertise with us

JFC FINAL | Roes Win Title Again

Sunday 04.10.2015
Team Talk Mag

Image courtesy of Damien McAnespie Photography

Brackaville are Junior champions again after a hard earned win over double chasing Aghaloo at Healy Park on Sunday afternoon.  It may not have been the high scoring spectacle that was predicted but in terms of commitment and will to win both sides certainly couldn’t be faulted in the sweltering heat.

Brackaville led 0-5 to 0-3 at the break but they should have been further in front in a half when they hit ten wides with Che O’Donnell palming a gilt edged goal chance wide. Playing into the Gortin Road goals though Aghaloo faired no better as they too accumulated ten wides on a day when both sides had twenty five between them.

Gary O’Gorman and Stephen Donnelly put the league winners into an early two point lead but Ciaran Gervin and O’Donnell had Brackaville back on level terms by the end of the opening quarter. O’Gorman and Dara McGuinness exchanged points before efforts from Ciaran Gervin and O’Donnell gave the winners the edge at the short whistle.

The impressive Sean Day burst past three challenges before fisting over the bar to increase the Roes’ advantage but Aghaloo responded through Tiarnan Donnelly and the hard working Niall Henderson to leave it a one point game.

Ciaran Gervin and Donnelly exchanged points and as Aghaloo searched for an equaliser there was heroic defending from Stefan Gervin and Ciaran Currie. With five minutes to go substitute Ruairi McGlone put Aghaloo level and the momentum seemed to be with them at that stage.

Brackaville though weren’t to be denied with Joe Rafferty making a telling contribution  when coming off the bench as he first of all put his side in front before providing the pass for wing half back Paul O’Neill to score. As the game slipped into injury time Niall McElroy closed the gap from a thirteen metre free but Brackaville held on to take the silverware on a 0-9 to 0-8 scoreline.




Advertise with us