Advertise with us

“St John’s College Dromore U16½ Team Reach Ulster Final” 

Tuesday 26.04.2022
Team Talk Mag
Latest News

“St John’s College Dromore U16½ Team reach Ulster Final” 

Excitement is building in St John’s Dromore as our under U16½ Gaelic team have reached the Bearnageeha Cup Ulster final.  The game against Edmund Rice College Belfast will take place at the Ballymacnabb ground just outside Armagh City on Wednesday 27th April. Throw in at 11.30am

Our path to the final

In the 1st round blitz which was played at MUSA in Cookstown St John’s won all their games defeating St Mary’s Irvinestown,  St John the Baptist Portadown and Drumragh Integrated. This saw them qualify for the Ulster Quarter Final where they played Sperrin Integrated from Magherafelt. After a great all round team performance St John’s came away with a comfortable victory on a scoreline of 6-13 to 3-10.  Team Captain Callum Welsh was the standout performer on the day and finished with a personal tally of 3-8 to his name. Others to shine were Callum Hunter who scored 1-4 and Fabian Healy scoring 1-1. Both Donal Mc Quaid 0-2 and Ryan Campbell 0-2 had great games in the half forward line while Nathan Hunter gave a commanding performance in midfield and Edward Liggett was the star performer in the defence. The Semi Final which took place at Clann Na nGael’s pitch in Dunamanagh was played on Tuesday 29th March against Our Lady of Lourdes College Ballymoney.  This was a tight affair with Ballymoney starting very well but the St John’s boys hit a purple patch just before half time with Callum Welsh and Nathan Hunter hitting 1-2 apiece to restore the lead and go into the break 3-6 to 3-1 ahead. The second half saw an overall improved performance from St John’s and with Eoghan McCann moved to full forward he hit a personal tally of 1-3 to help St John’s to victory on a final score-line of 5-13 to 3-10.  The contribution of team captain Callum Welsh finishing with 2-2 to his name and Nathan Hunter who gave an excellent display dominating midfield was pivotal to the outcome. There were also strong performances from Edward Liggett and Marcus Kelly who kept the defence well marshalled at the back throughout. We can now look forward with confidence to the final on the 27th April.


  1. Charlie Garrity
  2. Oisin McKenna
  3. Marcus Kelly
  4. Michael McCrystall
  5. Edward Liggett
  6. Christy McGurren
  7. Eoghan McCann
  8. Nathan Hunter
  9. Colm McCann
  10. Ryan Campbell
  11. Paschal Donnelly
  12. Donal Mc Quaid
  13. Callum Hunter
  14. Callum Welsh ( C )
  15. Fabian Healy

Subs: Pearse Marlow, Darragh McQuaid, James Moore, Ruairi Maguire, Cormac O’Neill, Donal Taggart, Patrick Dubiel, Ethan McGirr, Thomas Tolan, Oran Martin.

Management Team: Brian McCarron, Jimmy McCloughan and Aidan Logue.



Advertise with us