Advertise with us

St Ronan’s Make History

Monday 19.03.2018
Team Talk Mag
Latest News

Click here to view photos from the game.


St.Ronan’s Lurgan 1-9 St.Mary’s Magherafelt 1-7

History was made at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh on Monday afternoon when St.Ronan’s Lurgan won their first ever Danske Bank MacRory Cup title when edging out holders St.Mary’s Magherafelt.

The winners got off to the best possible start when Oisin Smyth converted a first minute penalty after Eoin McConville had been fouled. Smyth added a point before the holders responded with scores from Liam Quinn and defender Conal Devlin.

In the 24th minute Devlin won a Magherafelt penalty which Daniel Bradley converted to put the holders in front. Adam Connolly and McConville exchanged points before Tiarnan McAteer gave St.Marys Magherafelt a slender 1-4 to 1-3 interval advantage.

Man of the match Rioghan Meehan had the sides level within sixty seconds of the restart and you just knew that this was a contest that was going right to the wire.

Lurgan keeper Luke Mulholland punched a dangerous situation clear before McConville put the winners in front in the 40th minute from a thirteen metre free.

That advantage was short lived however as St.Marys midfielder Jamie McCann landed a wonderful equaliser as they demonstrated that they weren’t going to give up their title without a fight.

Magherafelt keeper Odhran Lynch made a brilliant save to deny Lurgan substitute Josh Megoran a goal before Meehan edged St.Ronan’s back in front. Bradley levelled matters but within sixty seconds Meehan hoisted the ball high and over the bar.

St.Ronan’s were playing with a fierce hunger at this stage and going into the final ten minutes substitute Marc McAfee left two between the sides. Devlin fired over a superb score but St.Ronan’s weren’t to be denied as McConville converted a late free and the celebrations at the final whistle demonstrated what it meant to the Armagh school.

St.Ronan’s Lurgan: L Mulholland, E McCluskey, A Mulholland, J Haddock, A McCreanor, J Lamont, J Haughey, J Lenehan, T Kelly, O Smyth (1-1), A Loughran, R Meehan (0-3), R McConville, L Monteiro, E McConville (0-4, 3f). Subs: J Megoran for R McConville, M McAfee (0-1) for Monteiro 

St.Mary’s Magherafelt: O Lynch, C Doyle, G Lupari, L McElhone, J Crawford, S McErlain, C Devlin (0-2), J McErlain, J McCann (0-1), A Connolly (0-1), T McAteer (0-1), R Keenan, L Quinn (0-1), C Murphy, D Bradley (1-1). Subs: A McCluskey for Keenan, D McAteer for McCann, C O’Neill for Bradley, R Hughes for Connolly

Referee: P Faloon, Down




Advertise with us