Advertise with us

Strabane Cause Major Upset In Under 16 Championship

Saturday 01.10.2011
Team Talk Mag

Strabane Sigersons 1-10
Omagh St Enda’s 0-8

Comhghairdeas agus maith thú to the Sigersons Juvenile Boys on a great 1-10 to 0-8 win over Omagh at Urney in the semi-final of the Tyrone Grade 1 Championship final.

Strabane went into this game as rank outsiders but a brilliant all round team display saw them advance to their first Grade 1 decider since 1996 with Naomh Mhuire their opponents in the final after they defeated Coalisland in the other semi-final.

The one and only time that a Strabane side won the Grade 1 title was away back in 1968 so the boys will be bidding to bring some silverware back to the club in this special year of the 25th anniversary of the reformation of the present day Sigersons club.

The game itself saw Strabane dominate for long periods and the sides were level at the interval 0-4 apiece with Eoghan Farrell twice denied goals by the post and the crossbar.

William McCauley opened the scoring for Strabane and Omagh responded with two points from play but Strabane hit the next three points with Kevin McKane scoring a brace and Darragh McCauley also getting his name on the score sheet.

The second half belonged almost entirely to the Sigersons boys and three points in succession via Adamh Devine, Eoghan Farrell and an excellent forty-five metre kick from the boot of Kevin McKane set Strabane on their way and when Eunan Harkin pulled off a point blank save it looked as though this was going to be their day.

Almost immediately, Rashawn McGrinder was denied a goal following a fine save by the Omagh net minder but he failed to hold onto the loose ball and Kevin McKane was on hand to ram the ball to the net for what was the only goal of the contest.

Both sides traded point for point with Adamh Devine, Kevin McKane and Darragh McCauley all on target for Sigersons as they claimed a famous victory over a very good Omagh side.

The Strabane team and scorers were; Eunan Harkin, Matthew Gillespie, Conal McGlinchey, Owen Devine, Michael McElwee, Lorcán Glackin (captain), Haydn McNamee, William McCauley (0-1) and Aodhán Devine, Eoghan Farrell (0-1), Liam McGillian, Darragh McCauley (0-2), Adamh Devine (0-2), Rashawn McGrinder, Kevin McKane (1-4).

Substitues; Corey Gallagher for Eoghan Farrell, Kyle Morrison for Rashawn McGrinder.
Luke Britton, Aaron McDermott, Aaron Coyle, Corey McGillion, Shane Kerlin, Shay Carlin, Sloan O’Donnell and Robert Tinney.

The referee was; Dermot Monaghan (Augher).



Advertise with us