Advertise with us

Tyrone Crowned All Ireland U17 Champions

Sunday 27.08.2017
Team Talk Mag
Academy Football


Tyrone 2-18 Roscommon 0-15

Tyrone U17s made sure of their place in the history books when they lifted the first All-Ireland football title at this grade when they proved too strong for Roscommon at Croke Park.


It was a richly deserved success for the Red Hands who looked the better side throughout. They led 0-13 to 0-5 at the short whistle following a dominant display and while Roscommon halved that deficit two goals in the last ten minutes made sure of the silverware.


Peter Gillooly and Ciaran Sugrue both exchanged points with Canavan in the opening seven minutes before the winners stepped on the gas. Ethan Jordan, Daniel Millar, Cormac Donaghy, Joe Oguz and Tarlach Quinn all pointed to leave Tyrone in control. Roscommon midfielder Shane Cunnane helped stem the tide with a trio of points but efforts from Canavan and Jordan left Tyrone well on top at the break.


Roscommon were the better side in the third quarter with Cunnane scoring twice more and Gillooly on target as well again as they closed the gap. It took Tyrone until the 44th minute to get their second half account up and running with a Jordan free but another Gillooly brace closed the gap to 0-14 to 0-10 with eleven minutes left on the clock.


In the next attack though Tyrone took a grip on proceedings again when a move saw Michael Conroy fist the ball to Canavan and the centre half forward did the rest with a blistering finish to the top left hand corner of the net.


Roscommon responded with three points from the boot of substitute Darragh Walsh but Tyrone replacements Conroy and Oisin McHugh replied for the winners. Conroy had a goal disallowed but four minutes into injury time Mark Hayes put the icing on the cake with a second goal after taking a pass from fellow substitute Ryan McCabe.


Tyrone: L Quinn, A Fox, M McCusker, C Ward, R Slane, C Munroe, T Quinn (0-1), M Murnaghan, J Oguz (0-1), C Donaghy (0-2, 1f), D Canavan (1-3), D Millar (0-3), E Jordan (0-5, 3f), C Donnelly, T Hoy. Subs: O McHugh (0-1) for Slane, M Hayes (1-0) for Hoy, M Conroy (0-2) for Donnelly, R McCabe for Jordan, L Gray for Donaghy


Roscommon: M O’Donnell, D Horan, J Keane, P Frost, C Lawless, O Lennon, J Martin (0-1), T McManus, S Cunnane (0-5, 2f), N Higgins, P Carey (0-1), A Lyons, P Gillooly (0-4, 1f), J Larkin, C Sugrue (0-1). Subs: P McGrath for Larkin, D Murray for McManus, P McManus for Lawless, D Walsh (0-3, 1f) for Sugre, D Duff for Horan, R Donoghue for Lennon


Referee: B Cawley, Kildare


Advertise with us