Advertise with us

Tyrone Into U21 Final

Thursday 02.04.2015
Team Talk Mag


Tyrone 2-12 Armagh 2-8

Tyrone are into the Ulster U21 final after seeing off the challenge of Armagh at Kingspan Breffni Park on Wednesday night. In the end four points separated the two sides but it was more comfortable than the final scoreline with Armagh getting their second goal in injury time at the end of the game.

Ruairi McGlone opened the scoring and by the 13th minute they were three points to the good thanks to splendid efforts from Kieran McGeary and Danny McNulty.

In the next attack though Armagh got back on level terms when a long ball forward was well fielded by Aidan Nugent who smashed the ball to the net. Despite that though it was Tyrone who dominated the remainder of the half with their work rate as much as anything to the fore.

Lee Brennan knocked over a free and in the 17th minute he scored a brilliant goal when he first timed the ball to the bottom right hand corner of the net past Blaine Hughes.

It was a score that visibly lifted the Red Hands and four minutes later they got in for an even better goal when McGeary played the ball to Conor Meyler who surged through before chipping the keeper from twenty metres out.

McNulty and Ethan Rafferty traded points from frees before the superb McGeary burst through from half back to score again to leave it 2-6 to 1-1 at the break.

Midfielder Cathal McShane increased Tyrone’s lead on the restart but Armagh hit back with Ethan Rafferty knocking over three frees in a row. McShane and Mark Kavanagh kept Tyrone at arm’s length though and while substitute Jack Grugan got a late goal it was only a consolation score. Tyrone lost McGeary to a second yellow in injury time.

Tyrone – S Fox, R Mullan, P Hampsey, F McGarrity, C McLaughlin, R Brennan, K McGeary (0-2), F Burns, C McShane (0-2), C Meyler (1-0), M Kavanagh (0-1), M Walsh, L Brennan (1-3), D McNulty (0-3), R McGlone (0-1). Subs – R Kelly for McLaughlin (black card), M Cassidy for Mullan (black card), D Kavanagh for McGlone, C Byrne for McGarrity, P McKenna for Burns


Armagh – B Hughes, G McCabe, S Heffron, J Cosgrove, F Burns, D O’Neill, D Nugent, C O’Hanlon (0-1), E Rafferty (0-5), G Mackin, C Comiskey, C Mackin, A Nugent (1-0), C McKenna, R McShane (0-1). Subs – N Grimley for McKenna, S Connell for Burns, P Campbell for O’Neill, M Murphy for G Mackin, J Grugan (1-1) for C Mackin, C Martin for Comiskey


Referee – S Laverty, Antrim



Advertise with us