Advertise with us

Tyrone Lose Narrowly To Armagh

Wednesday 10.01.2024
Team Talk Mag

Tyrone exited the McKenna Cup at the group stages suffering defeat at the hands of Armagh in the Athletic grounds. A lively encounter saw both sides enjoy periods of dominance, but a strong second half showing from Armagh helped them shade the contest.

An excellent opening ten minutes saw Tyrone lead 1-3 to 0-1, Tarlach Quinn smashing to the net after a pass from Garrity following good approach play from Kennedy. Peter Harte, Michael McKernan, and Ryan Jones all registered early scores. Armagh’s sole response the first of Oisin O’Neill’s seven points.

Moments after Quinn’s goal, Armagh had the perfect response with a Peter McGrane goal.

O’Neill narrowed the deficit before Tiarnan Quinn had a goal chance well saved. Further O’Neill frees edged Armagh in front before a brace of Lorcan McGarrity points put the Red Hands back in front. Tyrone continued in the ascendancy with points from Tiarnan Quinn and Michael McKernan extending their advantage. Late Armagh scores saw Tyrone lead by the minimum at half-time.

An early second goal chance was spurned by Tyrone before Armagh hit four in a row as they were rewarded for a strong third quarter. Conor Owens converted a mark with his first touch in senior colours to get Tyrone’s first score in 20 minutes. Frees were exchanged, but Armagh still led by three as the game entered the final five minutes.

A Peter Harte free in the 67th minutes narrowed the gap and Tyrone almost snatched the lead but Shea Magill denied Lorcan McGarrity from the resultant kick out.

Michael McKernan picked up a late second yellow as Armagh increased their lead through Sheridan and Rowland points.

Tyrone kept pressing and a floated ball into the square from Dalaigh Jones deceived everyone and finished in the net, but time ran out on the visitors.

Armagh: S Magill, T McCormack, A McKay, P McGrane (1-1), C Mackin, N Rowland (0-1),M Shields, C Higgins, N Grimley, J Sheridan (0-1), C O’Neill (0-1), T Kelly, C McConville (0-3, 2F), O O’ Neill (0-7, 6F), D McMullan. Subs: J Burns for McKay, J Hall for Kelly, O Conaty for O’Neill, J Kieran for McMullan, C O’Hanlon for Shields
Tyrone: N Morgan, C Devlin, M McKernan (0-2), A Clarke,  B Cullen, Tarlach Quinn (1-0),  N Devlin, Brian Kennedy, A Donaghy, R Jones (0-1), P Harte (0-2, 2F) C Daly, J Garrity,  L McGarrity (0-3, 2F), Tiarnan Quinn (0-1). Subs: J Donaghy for Cullen, D Mulgrew for Garrity, C Kilpatrick for Jones, C Owens (0-1, M) for Donaghy, D Jones(1-0) for Daly, N McCarron for Tarlach Quinn


Advertise with us