Advertise with us

Tyrone Lose Out In Minor Final

Monday 22.07.2013
Team Talk Mag

With twelve minutes left to play at Clones on Sunday holders Tyrone looked set to win the Ulster minor championship title for the twenty third time as they held an eight point lead over Monaghan but they failed to close the game out as they lost in dramatic circumstances.

Tyrone dominated early on with Lee Brennan, Ronan Nugent, Conor McKenna and Daire Gallagher among their points as they raced into a 0-7 to 0-1 lead. Monaghan responded with goals from Fearghal McMahon and substitute Barry McGinn but a major from McKenna on the stroke of halftime left the Red Hands 1-9 to 2-1 in front at the turnaround.

McMahon and Donal Meegan had Monaghan points on the restart with Stephen McGrath replying for Tyrone before Red Hands captain Ruairi McGlone blasted in a 7th minute goal. Brennan and McKenna tagged on points and while McMahon responded with a brace for Monaghan it was Tyrone who led 2-14 to 2-6 by the 48th minute after Frank Burns and Padraig McGirr had both split the posts.

Tyrone failed to score again though as Monaghan staged a rousing comeback with Conor McCarthy and McMahon hitting points either side of a second McGinn goal. Tyrone were on the rack but with the contest in injury time they still looked like holding on until referee Brendan Rice awarded Monaghan a dubious penalty which McMahon converted. Minutes before that McGlone had been sent off for a second yellow card offence and with the momentum all with Monaghan they closed the game out with a Meegan point to emerge 4-10 to 2-14 winners. Tyrone must try and regroup before they face Munster champions Kerry in the All Ireland quarter final on August 3rd.

Tyrone – Sean Fox, Colm Byrne, Rhys Quinn, Cillian McCann, Shea Hamill, Christopher Morris, Padraig McGirr, Ronan Nugent, Frank Burns, David Mulgrew, Conor McKenna, Daire Gallagher, Lee Brennan, Ruairi McGlone, Stephen McGrath. Subs – Sean Fox for Byrne, Michael Lynn for Gallagher, Rian McHugh for Nugent, Che O’Donnell for McGrath, Enda McElroy for Quinn

Scorers – Conor McKenna 1-3, Lee Brennan 0-5, Ruairi McGlone 1-0, Ronan Nugent 0-1, David Mulgrew 0-1, Daire Gallagher 0-1, Padraig McGirr 0-1, Frank Burns 0-1, Stephen McGrath 0-1

Monaghan – Conor Forde, Shane Treanor, Kevin Loughran, Ciaran Martin, Adam Kieran, Aodh Curran, Mikey Murnaghan, Niall Loughman, David McAlister, Desmond Ward, Ryan McAnespie, Adam Treanor, Conor McCarthy, Fearghal McMahon, Michael O’Dowd. Subs – Barry McGinn for O’Dowd, Dermot Gleeson for Adam Treanor, Donal Meegan for Loughman, Paul McArdle for Shane Treanor

Scorers – Fearghal McMahon 2-6, Barry McGinn 2-0, Donal Meegan 0-2, Ryan McAnespie 0-1, Conor McCarthy 0-1

Referee – Brendan Rice, Down


Advertise with us