Advertise with us

Tyrone Retain McKenna Cup

Thursday 20.02.2014
Team Talk Mag

Tyrone 1-15 Cavan 0-11
Tyrone turned on the style in the second half at the Athletic Grounds on Wednesday evening to comfortably see off the challenge of Cavan to make it three McKenna Cup titles in a row.

Cavan certainly made life difficult for the Red Hands in the first half when, with the wind at their backs, they looked the better side for long periods. Their full forward line of Martin Dunne [4], Eugene Keating [3] and Cian Mackey scored their entire first half tally between them as at one stage they led by double scores, 0-8 to 0-4. A couple of frees from keeper Niall Morgan had kept the holders in touch before Plunkett Kane levelled matters with the last kick of the half when he first timed the ball to the net after Cavan keeper Alan O’Mara had saved from Paddy McNeice.

Mackey edged Cavan back in front on the restart but then the holders took over. A long range free from Kyle Coney levelled matters before McNeice gave them a lead that they were never to lose when he blasted over with a goal there for the taking. Cavan’s cause wasn’t helped when they were reduced to fourteen men after defender Killian Brady was black carded having picked up a yellow one in the opening period.

Coney, Mark Donnelly and McNeice all tagged on points, the latter again firing over the top when in on goal. Mackey and David Givney tried to spark a Cavan revival with points apiece but a faster, fitter Tyrone side were having none of it and they closed the game out with scores from Ciaran McGinley, Coney and McNeice to win by seven points in the end.

Tyrone – N Morgan (0-3, 3f), PJ Quinn, D McBride, R McKenna, R McNabb, D Carlin, T McCann, N McKenna (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-1), PJ Lavery, C Cavanagh, P Kane (1-0), P McNeice (0-3), M Donnelly (0-1), K Coney (0-5, 2f). Subs – C Grugan for C Cavanagh, C McGinley (0-1) for McNabb, A McCrory for McBride, E McKenna for Kane, S McGuigan for Lavery, P Hughes for Donnelly

Cavan – A O’Mara, J Hayes, R Dunne, K Brady, D Barkey, J McLoughlin, J McEnroe, D McKiernan, D O’Reilly, M Reilly, N McDermott, M Argue, C Mackey (0-3), M Dunne (0-4, 2f), E Keating (0-3). Subs – N Smith for Dunne, G McKiernan for D McKiernan, D Givney (0-1) for Barkey, K Tierney for McDermott, M McKeever for Hayes, P Leddy for McLoughlin

Referee – M McNally, Monaghan



Advertise with us