Advertise with us

Ulster Scór Semi Finals

Tuesday 10.03.2020
Team Talk Mag


Coiste Cultúir agus Teanga

Scór Sinsear 2020

The Scór Sinsear programme continued to Ulster Competition level with a very busy weekend for Tyrone clubs. The Table Quiz section of Tráth na gCeist was held in Truagh Gaels Complex at Emyvale, Co Monaghan on Friday night, 6th March at 7.30 pm. All nine counties of Ulster attended the event with Fergus Mac Aoidh, from Dún na nGall as Maistír na gCeist. Three clubs qualified for the individual questions on stage section at the Ulster Finals at 5.00 pm on 21st March 2020 in Silverbridge GAA Complex in Co Armagh.

The qualifying clubs were Cornafean, Co Cavan, Bredagh, Co Down and Ballyshannon, Co Donegal. Tír Eoghain champions, Trí Leac, finished a very creditable fourth and were unfortunate not to qualify for the Ulster finals stages.

This was followed up the following night, 7th March, with the Ulster Semi Finals of Scór Sinsear held in St MacNissi’s Hall in Randalstown Co Antrim. Competitors from Counties Dún na nGall, An Cabhán, Muineacháin, Fear Manach and host county Aontroimcompeted for places in the Ulster Finals.

The following night, 8th March, in John Mitchell’s GAA Complex in Glenullin, Co Derry it was the turn of counties An Dún, Doire, Ard Mhacha and Tír Eoghain. In this tightly contested semi finals clubs from Tír Eoghain competed in all seven disciplines and qualifies for five of the events in the Ulster Finals in two weeks time. Competitors will now have a fortnight’s time of intense sharpening up to win an Ulster title and proceed to represent Tír Eoghain in the All Ireland Finals in INEC, Killarney on 25th April 2020 and be crowned All Ireland Champions.

The full list of clubs to participate in the Ulster Championship Finals is as follows:-

Rince Foirne:​Emyvale, Co Monaghan; Aghagallon, Co Antrim; Omagh, Tír Eoghain and Glenn, Co Derry.

Amhranaíocht Aonair:​Mayobridge, Co Down; Slaughtneil, Co Derry; Aghabog, Co Monaghan and Cuchullains, Co Antrim.

Aithriseoireacht:​Cullyhanna, Co Armagh; Attical, Co Down; Randalstown, Co Antrim and Scotstown, Co Monaghan.

Baileád Ghrúpa:​Saval, Co Down; Errigal Ciaran, Tír Eoghain; Robert Emmets, Donegal and Drumlane, Co Cavan.

Nuachleas:​Scotstown, Co Monaghan; Buncrana, Co Donegal; Omagh, Tír Eoghain and Bryansford, Co Down.

Uirlise;​Iolair na hÉirne (Templeport), Co Cavan; Derrygonnelly, Co Fermanagh, Ardboe, Tír Eoghain and Glenullin, Co Derry.

Rince Seit:​Drumlane, Co Cavan; Emyvale, Co Monaghan; Glenullin, Co Derry and Killyclogher, Tír Eoghain.

Tráth na gCeist​Cornafean, Co Cavan; Bredagh, Co Derry and Ballyshannon, CO Donegal.

This presents a very wide scope of clubs and counties competing for Ulster titles on 21st March.

This will leave Aontroim competing in three events, Armagh in one event, Cavan in four, Derry in four, Donegal

In three, Down in five, Fermanagh in one, Monaghan in five and Tír Eoghain in five.

This promises to make this year’s Ulster Finals a very entertaining display of our Irish National culture and a very competitive and colourful event well worth attending.



Advertise with us