Advertise with us

Ulster Success For Errigal Girls

Monday 18.12.2017
Team Talk Mag

Ulster Ladies Minor Club Final

Errigal Ciaran   2-13

Clann Eireann   3-8

Errigal Ciaran wrapped up their 2017 football season with a tremendous Ulster club minor final win over a battling Clann Eireann at Clones. There were just two points between the teams at the end of a pulsating end to end encounter that saw Maria Canavan hit 2-9 and collect the player of the match award. The young midfielder in her last minor match was outstanding willing to roll back into defence as well as pick off crucial scores with deadly accuracy.

Errigal had led by five points after ten minutes with Canavan hitting 0-4 after an early Aoife Quinn point but a quick fire three goals from the Armagh champions turned the game on its head. Niamh Murray found the net and a brace from Dearbhla Coleman put Clann in the driving seat .

To their credit Errigal hauled themselves back into the contest and Canavan floated a high ball to the Armagh net and a well timed Michaela Moore point left it a two point game by the break.

After two early second half points from Murray and midfielder Megan Mc Cann had pulled Clann four clear the sides were level by the thirty sixth minute. This time a Canavan goal was the inspiration. She then added a point before defender Meabh Corrigan tagged on another minor as the game swung back in Errigal’s favour.

Mc Caughley and  Murray landed excellent long range points for the Armagh side and when Murray spun away from full back Cloideach Donaghy to land her fifth point of the tie, clan were in front again. Once more Errigal responded to the challenge. Canavan worked a fine  point to level things again and they were in the box seat with the clock ticking down as Canavan and Mc Namee wrapped up the scoring to leave two between the sides.

In that last quarter Errigal controlled things with key players Bronagh Mc Dermott, Enya Donnelly, Canavan, Corrigan  and Elle Mc Namee all showing well. Donaghy was totally assured at the back with experience counting in those latter stages as Clann threw everything at the Tyrone champions. However Errigal showed great composure and they held on to get their hands on an historic first Ulster minor title.

Errigal Ciaran: Eimear Corrigan, Orla Quinn, Cloideach Donaghy, Nicole Nixon, Saorla Mullin, Meabh Corrigan 0-1, Cailin Nixon, Bronagh McDermott, Maria Canavan 2-9, Elle Mc Namee 0-1, Michaela Mooore 0-1, Hannah Mc Girr, Aoife Quinn 0-1, Enya Donnelly, Bronagh Mc Aleer. Subs Aoife Horisk for Quinn, Subs nost used, Claudine O’Neill, Grainne Mullin and Eimile Loughran

Clann Eireann: Niamh Murray 1-5 (2f), Dearbhla Coleman 2-1, Megan Mc Cann , Anna Mc Caughley 0-1 each



Advertise with us