Advertise with us

Fintona Progress to Ulster Quarter Final

Saturday 28.10.2023
Team Talk Mag

AIB Ulster Junior Football Championship
Fintona 1-16 Ballyhegan (Armagh) 1-6

Tyrone champions Fintona had ten points to spare over beaten Armagh finalist Ballyhegan at the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds in Armagh on Saturday afternoon to progress to the quarter final of the Ulster JFC.  The Pearses were five up at the break and by the end of game they doubled that advantage thanks to an excellent all round team performance.  Fintona led 0-4 to 0-1 inside the opening quarter thanks to points from Aaron McCarney (0-2, 1F) and Oran Hughes.  Ballyhegan’s only score during that period coming from Peter McGrane.

Caolan Donnelly popped up for the first of his two points in the 15th minute and that score was followed by a Mark Hughes point for Ballyhegan three minutes later.  The Pearse would gone on to finish the half very strongly as the entire full forward line added three more points.  Conor McGillion’s point followed by a second point for Oran Hughes and Aaron McCarney adding another free.  Ballyhegan kicked the final score of the opening half as James McCormack kicked a free.  Half Time – Fintona 0-8 Ballyhegan 0-3.

The Armagh men had the perfect start to the second half as Mark Hughes rifled home a 31st minute goal to reduce the gap to two points.  That was as good as it got for them.  Fintona responded with the next five points.  Jared Brogan, Aaron McCarney, Peter McGlinn, and Conor McGillion all on target.  A James McKeever point from play and a James McCormack free concluded Ballyhegan’s scoring in the 53rd minute.  The Pearses clipped over the last three scores with McCarney, Hughes and McGillion all finding the range in the closing stages.

Fintona finished the match with 13 wides as did their opponents.  Something for manager Martin Greene to focus in on ahead of the quarter final.

Final Score – Fintona 1-16 Ballyhegan 1-6

Fintona – C Gillespie, C McGowan, M McGlinn, J Brogan 0-2, C Donnelly 0-2, N Murray, P Kelly 0-1, C McGoldrick, P McGlinn 0-1, A Donnelly, E McCarroll, P Martin, O Hughes 0-2, C McGillion 1-2, A McCarney 0-5. Subs – L Maguire, T McGrath, T Gavin, Z Devine

Ballyhegan – J McKeever, A McNally, P McQuade, M McCann, R McCormack, P McGrane 0-1, C Morgan, M Hughes 1-1, C Williamson, M Hamill, R Rafferty, J McCann, J McCormack 0-4, C McDonald, J McKeever. Subs – R McKeever, J Hughes, S Morgan, K McCann, J McKenna, P Nixon.

Referee – B McMenamin (Cavan)





Advertise with us