Advertise with us

McKenna Cup Final Live Updates

Saturday 05.03.2011
Team Talk Mag

Full time!  Tyrone lose out by one point.  Much improved second half performance.  Derry lift the 2011 McKenna Cup. Tyrone 2-11 Derry 2-12

75 mins – Tyrone free converted by Martin Penrose.  Tyr 2-11 Derry 2-12

74 mins – GOAL! Stephen O’Neill goal after some wonderful vision from Owen Mulligan. Tyr 2-10 Der 2-12

72 mins – Paddy Bradley wins a ball and sets up Enda Muldoon for another long range point.  Tyr 1-10 Der 2-12

70 min – Martin Penrose reduces the lead to four.  Tyr 1-10 Der 2-11

69 mins – 7 mins additional time.  McConnell pulls off a wonderful save to deny Kieran Mullan.

65 mins – Derry free.  Paddy Bradley chips it over.  Tyrone don’t look like coming back from this.  Tyr 1-9 Der 2-10

62 mins – Eoin Bradley increases Derry’s advantage to three with a long range point from close to the sideline.  Tyr 1-9 Der 2-9

59 mins – Paddy Bradley twists inside and slots another left footer over.  Tyr 1-9 Der 2-8

57 mins – Tyrone free on the 14 metre line.  Sean Cavanagh reduces the Derry lead to one.  Stephen O’Neill comes on for Mark Donnelly. Tyr 1-9 Der 2-7

56 mins – Break in play.  Derry’s James Conway looks to have sustained a pretty bad ankle injury.

54 mins – Derry GOAL! Kieran Mullan nips in to score after a breaking ball goes Derry’s way.  Tyr 1-8 Der 2-7

52 mins – We’re ahead !! Tyrone working the ball well now.  Another Derry yellow card.  Sean Cavanagh converts the free.  That’s 1-6 without reply. Tyr 1-8 Der 1-7

49 mins – Level ! Kevin Hughes wins a Tyrone free after an excellent Davy Harte run and pass.  Penrose clips it over. Tyr 1-7 Der 1-7

45 mins – Cathal McCarron misses a great chance to level the game.  Tyrone wides up to six.

43 mins – Mulligan point.  Brian McGuigan finds the Cookstown man.  Kevin Hughes taking control at midfield. Tyr 1-6 Der 1-7

42 mins – GOAL! Sean Cavanagh run.  Beats three men and buries it into the bottom of the net. Tyr 1-5 Der 1-7

41 mins – Great piece of link play between Mark Donnelly and Owen Mulligan.  Owen points from 30 yards. Tyr 0-5 Der 1-7

40 mins – Strong Sean Cavanagh run ended by Derry’s Barry McGuigan.  He converts his own free. Tyr 0-4 Der 1-7

37 mins – Martin Penrose reduces the lead to seven with a lovely strike from the left. Tyr 0-3 Der 1-7

36 min – Justin McMahon replaced Aidan McCrory at the break.

Attendence – 4236

Half time.  Tyrone in a bad place.  They trail Derry by 8 points and there’s alot to talk about from a Tyrone perspective.  It can only get better. Tyrone 0-2 Derry 1-7

35 min – GOAL! Enda Muldoon goals for Derry.  Long ball in.  Muldoon slots it home from close range.  Tyr 0-2 Derry 1-7

33 mins – 7th point for Derry.  Another Paddy Bradley free from 20 metres. Tyr 0-2 Der 0-7

30 mins – Derry work the ball 70 yards without a single Tyrone tackle to win a 45.  They fail to make any headway from the free.

26 mins – Point! Sean Cavanagh converts after  Aidan Cassidy wins a free. Tyr 0-2 Der 0-6

23 mins – One way traffic at the minute.  Eoin Bradley wins another Derry free in front of goal.  Paddy Bradley converts.  Davy Harte is introduced for PJ Quinn. Tyr 0-1 Der 0-6

22 mins – Paddy Bradley picks up Derry’s third yellow card.

20 mins – Paddy Bradley free from 40 metres.  Tyrone under pressure in defence.  Tyr 0-1 Der 0-5

18 mins – Martin Penrose wins a free but misses the opportunity.

17 mins – Break in the play due to another Derry injury.  Derry defenders certainly not missing the Tyrone forwards.

16 mins – Mark Donnelly wide from 40 metres.  Second wide for Tyrone.

13 mins – Sean Cavanagh points for Tyrone after winning a breaking ball from Brian McGuigan’s free. Tyr 0-1 Der 0-4

11 mins – Paddy Bradley wins and converts a Derry free from in front of the posts, 35 metres out. Tyr 0-0 Der 0-4

10 mins – Enda Muldoon points an easy free from 13 metres.

9 mins – Sean Leo McGoldrick slots over Derry’s second point from the left hand side.  Tyr 0-0 Der 0-2

8 mins – Eoin Bradley registers Derry’s third wide.  Derry on top at the minute.

5 mins – Sean Cavanagh comes through the Derry defence off loads to Owen Mulligan who registers Tyrone’s first wide.  Let’s hope it’s not a sign of things to come.

7.05pm Martin Donaghy opens the scoring for Derry with a point.

7.01pm Game begins and then stops quickly as a Brian McCallion picks up an injury.

7pm Booking for Gerard O’Kane before the ball is thrown in after an altercation with Sean Cavanagh.

6.52pm Ryan McMenamin captains Tyrone tonight. Kevin McCloy has taken over as Derry captain as  Barry McGoldrick is unable to start.

6.42pm Perfect conditions in Armagh.  Tyrone team take to the field.  Kyle Coney is among the subs.

Tyrone team for tonight’s Barrett Lighting Mc Kenna Cup Final lines out as follows:

Pascal Mc Connell, Aidan Mc Crory, Damian Mc Caul, PJ Quinn, Cathal Mc Carron, Ryan Mc Menamin, Martin Swift, Conor Gormley, Aidan Cassidy, Kevin Hughes, Brian Mc Guigan, Sean Cavanagh, Owen Mulligan, Martin Penrose, Mark Donnelly.



Advertise with us