Advertise with us

Omagh CBS Claim Mac Rory Title In All Tyrone Final

Sunday 12.02.2023
Team Talk Mag
Latest News


Omagh CBS are the Mac Rory Cup champions following a 0-16 to 1-6 win over a highly fancied Holy Trinity College side at O’Neills Healy Park on Sunday afternoon. The Cookstown side made the perfect start with a goal and a point inside the opening eight minutes as they dominated play from the start. However Omagh weathered the early storm and then produced a very controlled performance which saw them close the gap and reach the break 0-9 to 1-3 ahead.

With Ruairi Mc Hugh in fine form Cookstown made most of the early running. Jack Martin fired over the opening point before Liam Lawn got on the end of a superb HTC team move to fire to the net and give his team the perfect start.

Omagh began to settle with Nathan Farry, Callum Daly, Eoin Donaghy, Cormac Watson and Tomas Haigney coming more into the game. Ruairi Mc Cullagh and Tomas Haigney hit points as the CBS began to impose their game plan on the match.

A second Jack Martin point put three in it but by then Conor Owens, Liam Og Mossey and Mc Cullagh were beginning to cause problems for an overworked HTC defence. Mc Cullagh landed a superb point before Owens fired over a 45 into the wind to leave it a one point game.

Conal Devlin broke through to hit Cookstown’s third and final point of the half as HTC led by two. From then to the half time whistle Omagh dominated the game. They turned over the Cookstown attack numerous times and hit five unanswered points courtesy of Mc Cullagh (3), Liam Og Mossey and Eoin Mc Elholm to go in at the break on top and leading 0-9 to 1-3. HTC did come very close on the stroke of half time to snatching a goal with a Hail Mary ball into the square but goalkeeper Conor Mc Aneney was alert to the danger and made a superb stop.

Half time score: Omagh CBS 0-9 HTC 1-3

HTC began the second half well enjoying more possession and creating a number of chances but they found the Omagh rearguard in uncompromising mood, Jack Martin pointed to reduce the gap to two but Omagh responded with a point apiece from Tomas Haigney and Conor Owens before Ryan Quinn converted a twelfth minute free and the gap was down to two points.

It was then that the game was basically decided. Showing great composure and tenacity the Omagh lads added three points to their tally and take the game out of the reach of their opponents. Conor Owens, who never stopped working, Liam Og Mossey and Charlie Donnelly fired over points as Omagh pushed for home.

Cookstown looked a beaten and frustrated team as they found the Omagh rearguard impossible to penetrate and although they went for goals when it was all over their best efforts were once again denied by Conor Mc Aneney in the CBS goals.

Late points on the counterattack from team captain Eoin Mc Elholm and Conor Owens sealed the win for Omagh and left the final score 0-16 to 1-6 in favour of Omagh CBS.

Omagh CBS: C McAneney, N Farry, B McMenamin, S Kerr, C Donnelly, C Daly, T Haigney (0-2), E Donaghy, C Donnelly (0-1), C Watson, E McElholm (0-2), L McCullagh, R McCullagh (0-5, 3F, 1 “45”), C Owens (0-4, 2F), L Og Mossey (0-2, 1M). Subs: D McCallan for L McCullagh, N McCarney for Watson, C O’Hagan for Mossey, C McConnell for R McCullagh

Holy Trinity Cookstown: R Dillon, M Donnelly, L Cullen, C Devlin (0-1), R Nelis, B Hampsey (0-1), S McCann, R McHugh, J Martin (0-3, 3F), Conan Devlin, Cormac Devlin, H J Cunningham, R Quinn (0-1, 1F), M McElhatton, L Lawn (1-0). Subs: S Hughes for Donnelly, J Concanon for Nelis, K McGuigan for Martin

Referee: M McNally, Monaghan


Advertise with us