Advertise with us

Omagh Secure Minor Championship

Monday 25.10.2010
Team Talk Mag

Omagh 4-8 Cookstown 0-12
Reigning Ulster minor champions Omagh ensured that they will be back defending their title in the forthcoming tournament at the St.Pauls Club in Belfast when they retained their Tyrone crown at the expense of Cookstown in the final at Donaghmore on Saturday afternoon.

Omagh had defender Ciaran McLaughlin sent off in the closing stages of the first half but still led 1-4 to 0-5 at the break with Rory McBride getting their goal, Danny McDermott and Conan Grugan among the points for their respective sides. On the restart points from Barry Potter and Leigh McCracken levelled matters but then Omagh turned the game on its head in a three minute period.

All Ireland minor winner Ronan O’Neill scored a superb goal before supplying the pass for Ruairi Bradley to find the net. O’Neill then provided the assist for Tyrone team mate Conor Clarke to score their fourth goal to put the issue beyond doubt as the St.Endas hit 3-4 without reply. Defender Niall Doyle and substitute Eoin Coyle had late Cookstown points but it was a case of too little too late.

Omagh – Ryan Clarke, Ciaran Canavan, Eoghain McElduff, James Gallagher, Gregory Murray, Conan Grugan, Ciaran McLaughlin, Ruairi Bradley, Conor Clarke, Cormac Hannigan, Ronan O’Neill, Eamon McMahon, Cormac O’Neill, Tony McCann, Rory McBride. Subs – Michael Gallagher for Hannigan, Danny McGloin for Canavan, Sean Canavan for Gallagher

Scorers – Rory McBride 1-2, Conor Clarke 1-1, Ronan O’Neill 1-1, Ruairi Bradley 1-0, Conan Grugan 0-2, Cormac Hannigan 0-1, Tony McCann 0-1

Cookstown – Owen Devlin, Ruairi Mullan, Jamie McGarrity, Ciaran Blake, Matthew Hughes, Shea McGarrity, Niall Doyle, Matthew Carberry, Ciaran Owens, Ryan O’Neill, Danny Maguire, Barry Potter, Leigh McCracken, Danny McElhatton, Andre Teisceira. Subs – Conor Hughes for Teisceira, Eoin Coyle for Maguire, John McIvor for Owens

Scorers – Danny McElhatton 0-4, Niall Doyle 0-2, Eoin Coyle 0-2, Shea McGarrity 0-1, Matthew Carberry 0-1, Barry Potter 0-1, Leigh McCracken 0-1

Referee – Fergal Daly, Gortin



Advertise with us