Advertise with us

Ranch Land Sigerson Number Two

Saturday 18.02.2017
Team Talk Mag

Grit, determination and no shortage of footballing knowledge saw St Mary’s University College Belfast land only their second Sigerson Cup title in Mayo this afternoon.  It was a backs against the wall performance from the St Mary’s men who once again recovered from a nightmare start to the game after conceding two early goals to Colm Basquel.

The St Mary’s side recovered with some excellent points from team captain Conor Meyler, Oisin O’Neill and Cathal McShane.  Killyclogher man Conall McCann was in super form during the opening half kicking a couple of excellent points to haul St Mary’s back into the game.

After the break held firm thanks to some excellent defending from Down man Kevin McKernan, Kieran McGeary and Colm Byrne.  Ruairi Mooney was also in excellent form at full back.  UCD pushed hard to force a draw but the scores didn’t arrive quickly enough and the Ranch held on for a remarkable victory.

St Mary’s University College Scorers: Oisin O’Neill 0-4 (3fs), Conall McCann 0-2, Cathal McShane 0-2, Kieran McGeary 0-2 (2fs), Conor Meyler 0-1, Corey Quinn 0-1, Ciaran Corrigan 0-1.

UCD Scorers: Colm Basquel 2-1, Conor McCarthy 0-2 (1f), Eamonn Wallace 0-1, Barry McGinn 0-1, Paul Mannion 0-1.

St Mary’s University College: Mark Reid (Down); Ruairi Mooney (Derry), Kyle Mallon (Armagh), Aaron McKay (Armagh); Ciaran MacIomhar (Armagh), Conor Meyler (Tyrone), Colm Byrne (Tyrone); Conall McCann (Tyrone), Oisin O’Neill (Armagh); Ciaran Corrigan (Fermanagh), Kieran McGeary (Tyrone), Stephen McConville (Down); Kevin McKernan (Down), Matthew Fitzpatrick (Antrim), Cathal McShane (Tyrone).

Subs: Corey Quinn (Down) for Stephen McConville (45 mins), Jack Hannigan (Antrim) for Kyle Mallon (60 mins).

UCD: Colm Honan (Meath); Eoin Murchan (Dublin), Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin), Robbie McDaid (Dublin); Conor Mullally (Dublin), Stephen Coen (Mayo), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin); Barry O’Sullivan (Kerry), Jack Barry (Kerry); Andy McDonnell (Louth), Conor McCarthy (Monaghan), Eamonn Wallace (Meath); Paul Mannion (Dublin), Colm Basquel (Dublin), Barry McGinn (Monaghan).

Subs: Liam Casey (Tipperary) for Andy McDonnell (31 mins), Tom Hayes (Cavan) for Paul Mannion (56 mins), Larry Moran (Longford) for Barry O’Sullivan (58 mins, bc).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork).



Advertise with us