Advertise with us

St.Macartans Ease Into Last Eight

Friday 16.09.2022
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

Augher 5-19 Killyman 1-6

As the final scoreline would suggest Augher experienced little difficulty in booking their place in the last eight of the LCC Junior championship when they proved too strong for Killyman at Garvaghey on Friday night.


The St.Marys had responded well to the St.Macartans First goal but the winners then found the net a further three times before the break to leave it all ovr bar the shouting, 4-9 1-4. To their credit Killyman battled to the final whistle but they were always fighting a losing battle as Augher set up a quarter final meeting with Derrytresk.


The sides shared the opening four points through Darragh Kavanagh, Ciaran Treanor, Enda McGahan and Ronan McVeigh before Aiden McElroy got Augher’s first goal in the 10th minute. Killyman responded with a major from Ryan McKenna but then Augher took over. Kavanagh hit a few points with Dara Donnelly, McElroy and Treanor all raising green flags to leave them in complete control.


Kavanagh and McVeigh exchanged points on the restart before the hard working Martin McElhatton got his name on the scoresheet for the winners. Kavanagh, Treanor and McElroy all tagged on points with McGahan responding for Killyman. Full forward Kavanagh then took his personal haul to 0-10 and Raymond McElroy came off the bench to notch 1-1 for the impressive winners.



Sean McElroy, Odhran McGinn, Emmett Neeson, Niall McCaughey, Gregory McCaughey, Finbarr McQuaid, Liam Connolly, Eoghan Keenan, Charlie Cawley (0-1), Martin McElhatton (0-1), Dara Donnelly (1-1), Conor Hackett, Aiden McElroy (2-2), Darragh Kavanagh (0-10, 4F), Ciaran Treanor (1-3, 2F). Subs: Ryan McElroy for Niall McCaughey, Raymond McElroy (1-1) for Aiden McElroy, Cathal McKenna for McElhatton, Finnbar McElroy for Gregory McCaughey, Rory Cassidy for Cawley



Emmett Meehan, Liam McGahan, Caomhan McGahan, Ryan McAliskey, Gary Hamill, Barry McAliskey, Adam Cullen, Cathal McGahan, Ronan McVeigh (0-2), Enda McGahan (0-3, 3F), Ryan McKenna (1-1), Eamon Donnelly, Declan McAlinden, Sean Donnelly, Conor Gribben. Subs: Gerard Hughes for Caomhan McGahan, Chris McParland for Cullen



Niall Conlon, Moortown



Advertise with us