Advertise with us

Wolfe Tones Through To Semi

Saturday 19.09.2020
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football


Drumquin 2-11 Brackaville 2-9

Sean McDonagh’s injury time goal proved to be the decisive score at Pomeroy on Saturday afternoon as Drumquin booked their place in the last four of the LCC Junior championship at the expense of Brackaville.

It is a game that the Roes will no doubt look back on with regret as over the course of the sixty odd minutes they hit 16 wides to let their opponents off the hook and keep them in contention and they ultimately paid the price for that wastefulness in front of the posts. The Wolfe Tones led early on thanks to a brace of points from Liam Patterson before Dale McSorley grabbed a Brackaville goal in the 9th minute. Rian McHugh and McDonagh exchanged points before Drumquin took the lead with a goal from full forward Paul Sheridan. Ronan McHugh and McSorley had Brackaville points with Padraic Rodgers responding for Drumquin before a close in free from McSorley gave the Roes a slender 1-6 to 1-5 interval advantage.

Substitute Ryan McCallion levelled matters on the restart but when a second McSorley goal was followed by a point from the same player Brackaville looked to be in control. They missed chances though that would have put them out of sight and points from McCallion, Sheridan and substitute Cormac Rodgers reduced the deficit to the minimum going into the final quarter.

Stiofan Gervin got a much needed Brackaville score but Drumquin kept battling away with McCallion converting a couple of frees either side of a successful placed ball from the boot of McSorley. Two minutes into injury time though McDonagh won the game for his side with a neat finish low to the bottom left hand corner of the net to set up a semi final meeting next weekend with Drumragh.


Drumquin scorers – Sean McDonagh 1-2, Ryan McCallion 0-4 (3F), Paul Sheridan 1-1, Liam Patterson 0-3, Padraic Rodgers 0-1


Brackaville scorers – Dale McSorley 2-4 (2F),Stiofan Gervin 0-2, Ronan McHugh 0-1, Rian McHugh 0-1, Ryan McElhatton 0-1


Referee – Mark Loughran, Errigal Ciaran




Advertise with us