Advertise with us

All Ireland Minor Camogie Title For Tyrone

Sunday 28.04.2024
Team Talk Mag


Tyrone and Mayo served up a superb All Ireland C Final at Drumlane in county Cavan on Sunday afternoon with both sides enjoying periods of dominance and control before the Red Hand County emerged victorious on a score line of 3-13 to 1-11.

Mayo played with the wind in the first half hoping to use the elements to help them build a good lead. Unfortunately for them they hadn’t factored in the grit and determination of the Tyrone girls who worked their socks off to get to the short whistle trailing 0-7 to 0-6 with all to play for after the break.

The first half was a dogged affair with serious questions being asked of the Tyrone defence. Goalkeeper Sienna Gildernew was a rock who made several very important stops as Mayo launched a number of dangerous attacks which came to little.

The full back line of Una Mc Crory, Clara Doherty and Aodh Bennett were simply outstanding as they repelled the best that Laois Greally, Méabh Tunney, Hannah Hauttman and their team mates could fire at them.

The half back line weathered several storms over the course of the afternoon with Orlaith Mc Elduff, Kate Daly and Grainne Cassidy producing moments of maturity and skill well beyond their years.

The middle of the park was always going to be a battlefield and Tyrone’s two warriors Niamh Mc Elduff and player of the match Emer Cunningham certainly relished the combat that control over the middle third required. Their contribution to the team’s win was absolutely immense.

The forwards worked as hard defensively at times as they did on the attack. Neasa Mc Elroy, Catherine Muldoon and Gemma Daly hooked, harried and hassled their opponents all afternoon bringing an intensity to the contest that Mayo just could not match while Eva Cullen, Rhianne Mc Laughlin and Claire Mc Aleer caused mayhem close to the opposition goal with their direct running and ball carrying.

The teams were level on four occasions in the first half with Tyrone having to work hard for scores playing into the strong breeze. Mayo must have thought they had made a significant break when they moved three points clear with the half time whistle minutes away. Tyrone dug deep and a brace of points from Emer Cunningham reeled them back in as the referee sounded the whistle for the end of a very competitive first half.

The second half saw Tyrone at their best as points from Moohan, Orlaith Mc Elduff, Cunningham and a goal from Rhianne Mc Laughlin had Tyrone in front leading 1-8 to 0-9. Further points stretched the lead as Tyrone grew in confidence and self belief. Mc Laughlin and Gemma Daly added a brace of goals between them and with ten minutes remaining Tyrone looked home and hosed. Credit to Mayo they refused to throw in the towel testing the Tyrone goalkeeper and fullback line on several occasions only to see their efforts repelled. Laura Flanagan did find the net late in injury time but it was very much a case of too little too late and Tyrone were deservedly crowned the All Ireland C Champions.




Advertise with us