Advertise with us

All Ireland Under 20 Championship Final

Sunday 19.05.2024
Team Talk Mag
Championship Football

Tyrone 1-20 1-14 Kerry

Tyrone claimed their second All Ireland title in three years with an exceptional performance in Portlaoise. A superb inside forward line of Ruairi McCullagh, Ronan Cassidy, and man of the match Eoin McElholm accounted for 0-17. The defence was expertly marshalled by Callum Daly, and he produced two wonderful blocks at crucial moments. Captain Michael Rafferty did a super marking job on danger man Luke Crowley, and on several occasions corner backs Clarke and Devlin began attacks from deep in their own half.

In truth, the winning margin should have been much greater. The woodwork denied Tyrone two goals and several points, but only Cormac Dillon provided any resistance for the Munster champions.

Eoin McElholm opened the scoring for the winners in the fourth minute before points from Dillon and Kirby put Kerry in front. Ronan Cassidy levelled matters in the tenth minute just as Tyrone began to take control. Joey Clarke got the crucial opening goal, as his shot was deflected into the net, midway through the first half. The post was struck by Devlin and Potter within a minute as Tyrone tore through the Kerry defence. Cormac Devlin, McCullagh, McCullagh and Cassidy added to the Tyrone tally as they led by four at the break.

McCullagh opened the scoring within fifteen seconds of the restart before Odhran Brolly and Dillon exchanged points. Kerry kept in touch with frees from Dillon and a point from Paddy Lane and were grateful for Ryan Diggins clearing Potter’s shot off the line.

The final quarter saw Loughmacrory duo McElholm and McCullagh run riot as they combined for six points.

Kerry got a lifeline in fifty third minute, Crowley was fouled and stepped up to convert the resultant penalty to narrow the gap to five. But this was Tyrone’s day and late scores from Conor Owens and Eoin McElholm confirmed a memorable victory.

Tyrone: C McAneney, J Clarke (1-0), B Hughes, Conor Devlin, S O’Hare, M Rafferty  O Brolly (0-1), R Fox, C O’Neill, Cormac Devlin (0-1), E McElholm (0-7), G Potter, R McCullagh (0-5, 1F), R Cassidy (0-5, 1F), C Daly. Subs: F Nelis for Conor Devlin, C Donnelly for Brolly, N Grimes for Potter, C Owens (0-1) for McCullagh, R Donnelly for Cassidy
Kerry: M Tansley, M Lynch, D O’Callaghan, G Evans, C Keating, D O’Connor, C Lynch, R Stack, E Healy (0-2), D Kirby (0-1), O Ferris, T Kennedy, C Dillon (0-8, 3F, 1M), A Crowley, L Crowley (1-1, 1-0 pen). Subs: R Diggin for O’Callaghan, E Boyle (0-1) for Stack, P Lane (0-1) for A Crowley, F Murphy for Kirby, A Segal for Evans
Referee: P Neilan (Roscommon)


Advertise with us