Advertise with us

Dominant Donaghmore Lift U-20 Title

Wednesday 07.06.2023
Team Talk Mag


Donaghmore 6-18 Carrickmore 1-7

After a superb showing of attacking, inventive football Donaghmore claimed the grade one U20 title following a convincing win over  Carrickmore at Plunkett Park in Pomeroy on Tuesday evening.

The Village side began on the front foot and although a well drilled Carrickmore outfit made life difficult for them during the opening quarter it was only a question of when and not if they would get going. The outstanding Noah Grimes bagged his first goal in the 20th minute and having taken the lead they never looked like being caught. Grimes added another goal late in the first half as they reached the break in a commanding position leading 2-7 to 0-4 

Carrickmore had their moments but led superbly by Joey Clarke the Donaghmore defence maintained their shape and kept their opponents at bay. Up front Grimes (3-3) and Ronan Cassidy (0-8) made hay while half time substitute Ronan Molloy finished up with 2-2.  

The game began with Davagh Loughran pointing before Conor Cush replied for Donaghmore.  The same player scored again after Matty McNally pointed to put Carrickmore ahead again. A converted free from Lorcan McGarrity edged Carrickmore back in front but profligacy in front of goal proved their downfall as they ran up a significant tally of first half wides. Grimes found the net and points from Cormac Drayne, Cassidy and Grimes followed by a second Noah Grimes goal sent the teams off at the break with Donaghmore in control. 

McGarrity and Cassidy swapped points after the restart before the St. Patrick’s lads really ground form. Cassidy struck another brace with Grimes also on target to stretch the lead further before  Colum McCrory knocked over a free and Carrickmore full forward Oisin Rafferty added a goal as the Carmen lads attempted to mount a comeback. sadly for them it was not to be and a single point in the remainder of the contest was all they had to show for their endeavours.

Donaghmore had found their groove and scores from Grimes and Ronan Donnelly followed by Ronan Molloy’s first goal put Donaghmore out of sight. Ronan Cassidy kicked half a dozen points in the second period and McAshea, Grimes and Molloy hit the ent during the final minutes as they sealed the win and claimed the title convincingly. 

Donaghmore scorers:

Noah Grimes 3-3, Ronan Cassidy 0-8 (3F), Roan Molloy 2-2, Conor Cush 0-3 (2F), Rian McAshea 1-0, Cormac Drayne 0-1, Ronan Donnelly 0-1

Carrickmore scorers:

Lorcan McGarrity 0-3 (3F), Oisin Rafferty 1-0, Davagh Loughran 0-1, Matty McNally 0-1 (45), Daithi McCallan 0-1, Colum McCrory 0-1 [F]


Conan McGarvey, Lorcan Grimes  Ben Hughes, Ciaran Donnelly, Jude McNally, Joey Clarke, Conor O Neill, John McKenna, Ronan Donnelly, Tom Grimes, Cormac Drayne, Conor Cush, Rian McAshea, Noah Grimes, Ronan Cassidy. Subs: Ronan Molloy for Cush, Thomas McGuigan for Drayne, Johnny Field for McAshea, Cian McKenna for Ronan Donnelly


Eoghan Keenan, Matty McCallan, Oisin McGurk, James McCallan, Matty McNally, Pierce Byrne, Davagh Loughran, Colum McCrory, Donall Sweeney, Conn Sweeney, Lorcan McGarrity, Aidan Woods, Daithi McCallan, Oisin Rafferty, James Donaghy. Subs: Kevin Cuddy for Conn Sweeney, Corey Gillen for Woods


Paul Gallagher, Castlederg 



Advertise with us