Advertise with us

Pomeroy Win Grade 2 League

Thursday 28.10.2010
Team Talk Mag

Pomeroy 1-10 Ardboe 1-9

Pomeroy are grade two minor double winners for 2010 but they had to do it the hard way against a determined Ardboe side in the league decider at Healy Park Omagh on Sunday afternoon.

The Plunketts went into the game as warm favourites but they had centre half back and captain Ronan Quinn sent off for a second yellow card offence after only fourteen minutes and the Rossas took advantage to carve out a three point lead with efforts from Conan Campbell, Oliver Coyle and Conor Coyle, Quinn and Hugh McNamee on target for Pomeroy. The Plunketts narrowed the gap with a score from wing back Brendan Burns but it was Ardboe who led by double scores at the break, 0-8 to 0-4, with the two Coyles and defender James McDonnell on target.

The second half was only six minutes old when Sean Teague scored an Ardboe goal and they looked set for victory. That’s when Pomeroy though came to the fore with McNamee, Burns, Sean Quinn and Pearse Quinn all landing points before Francis Burns cracked a brilliant shot to the top right hand corner of the net. Sean Quinn added a point before Michael Cassidy ended Ardboe’s barren spell with a late free but they couldn’t find an equaliser.

Pomeroy – John McCourt, Ryan Begley, Hugh Pat McGeary, Colm McGuone, Michael Mills, Ronan Quinn, Brendan Burns, Sean Quinn, John Loughran, Francis Burns, Hugh McNamee, Eddie Corcoran, Pearse Quinn, Ciaran McGeary, Damien Woods. Sub – Brian McKeever for Woods

Ardboe – Shane Graham, Peter O’Neill, Aidan Duffy, Ollie Mallaghan, James McDonnell, Kristian Mallon, Johnny McAuley, Michael Cassidy, Joe Quinn, Michael Lynn, Oliver Coyle, Conor Coyle, Sean Teague, Conan Campbell, Ciaran O’Neill. Sub – Ryan Mulgrew for O’Neill

Pomeroy scorers – Francis Burns 1-1, Brendan Burns 0-2, Sean Quinn 0-2, Hugh McNamee 0-2, Ronan Quinn 0-1, John Loughran 0-1, Pearse Quinn 0-1

Ardboe scorers – Sean Teague 1-0, Michael Cassidy 0-2, Conor Coyle 0-2, Conan Campbell 0-2, Oliver Coyle 0-2, James McDonnell 0-1

Referee – Martin Lynch, Omagh



Advertise with us