Advertise with us

Tyrone Defeat Cork

Sunday 16.06.2024
Team Talk Mag

Tyrone 1-18 Cork 0-17

Tyrone produced a fine second half display at O’Connor Park in Tullamore on Saturday afternoon to get the better of Cork and clinch a place in the preliminary Quarter final of the championship next weekend.


The win wasn’t enough to clinch top spot and an automatic quarter final spot, that went to Donegal after their comprehensive victory over Clare, but they did get second and a home tie, Cork finishing third in the group despite beginning the day on top. The sides were level ten times in an entertaining first half with the crucial score in the contest coming in the 48th minute when Ben Cullen fired in the only goal of the game. The Edendork defender was a late call up for Kieran McGeary who got injured in the war up and he was one of ten players who featured on the score sheet for the Red Hands, Darragh Canavan leading the way with 0-5 to his name. The only downside on the day for Tyrone was the straight red card issued to midfielder Conn Kilpatrick which could rule him out next weekend.


Mark Cronin opened the scoring for Cork from a free but Tyrone defender Niall Devlin levelled matters in the 2nd minute with a fisted point. Steven Sherlock, who was Cork’s leading marksman on the day, converted a free but Niall Morgan cancelled that out with a placed ball from distance for the first of his three points. Chris Og Jones and Cronin twice edged Cork in front only for the Canavan brothers Darragh and Ruairi to respond before Cork moved 0-6 to 0-4 in front thanks to efforts from Jones and Sherlock. Michael O’Neill and Jones swapped points before Tyrone enjoyed a good spell that saw them get their noses in front for the first time thanks to scores from Ruairi Canavan, Darragh Canavan and Sean O’Donnell. Brian O’Driscoll levelled matters before a superb pinpoint pass from Morgan picked out Edendork colleague Kilpatrick who lofted a quality point. Cork though closed out the first half on top with points from Cronin and Sherlock as they edged the opening period 0-10 to 0-9.


Darragh Canavan and Cronin traded early second half points before a good move from Tyrone resulted in a quality score from Darren McCurry. In the 43rd minute Jones picked up a black card for a rash challenge on Morgan and moments later Tyrone took the lead when Darragh Canavan cut in from the left wing and just as it looked as though he had lost control of the ball he half volleyed it over. A good point from out on the wing from O’Driscoll levelled matters once more but them came that Tyrone goal with Cullen exchanging passes with Ciaran Daly to finish in style to the net for an advantage that they were never to lose.


Morgan landed a superb point from play and while Sherlock responded Darragh Canavan then went past two challenges to land another quality point. McCurry then cut in from the wing to land a superb score but in the 63rd minute Tyrone lost Kilpatrick to that red card. Despite that Tyrone always looked in control with Morgan stroking over a “45” and McKernan drilled over. Sherlock took his personal haul on the day to 0-8 but by that stage Tyrone had already safely secured home advantage.




Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Niall Devlin, Padraig Hampsey, Michael McKernan; Ben Cullen, Mattie Donnelly, Aidan Clarke; Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick; Ciaran Daly, Ruairi Canavan, Michael O’Neill; Darren McCurry, Darragh Canavan, Sean O’Donnell. Subs: Peter Harte for O’Neill, Cathal McShane for Ruairi Canavan, Shea O’Hare for O’Donnell, Cormac Quinn for Cullen, Tiernan Quinn for Darragh Canavan



Cork: Christopher Kelly; Kevin Flahive, Daniel O’Mahony, Tommy Walsh; Maurice Shanley, Rory Maguire, Matty Taylor; Ian Maguire, Colm O’Callaghan; Sean Powter, Paul Walsh, Brian O’Driscoll; Mark Cronin, Steven Sherlock, Chris Og Jones. Subs: Ruairi Deane for Powter, Conor Corbett for Walsh, Sean Meehan for Flahive, Cathail O’Mahony for Cronin, Killian O’Hanlon for O’Driscoll


Tyrone scorers: Darragh Canavan 0-5 (1f), Niall Morgan 0-3 (1f, 1 45), Ben Cullen 1-0, Darren McCurry 0-3 (0-1f), Ruairi Canavan 0-2, Conn Kilpatrick 0-1, Sean O’Donnell 0-1, Michael O’Neill 0-1, Niall Devlin 0-1, Michael McKernan 0-1


Cork scorers: Steven Sherlock 0-8 (6fs), Mark Cronin 0-4 (2fs), Chris Og Jones 0-3, Brian O’Driscoll 0-2



Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon).



Advertise with us